Minutes from the Spring Meeting

by Brian Harkins, Social Law Library

President Darcy Kirk opened the meeting by thanking the staff of Franklin Pierce for the excellent arrangements. She also commended the lst graders whose artwork decorated the dining room.

Darcy announced some changes in LLNE’s committee structure, the details of which appear in the newsletter. She announced Maria Sekula’s retirement from the newsletter layout and thanked Maria for making the newsletter an attractive publication. Treasurer Cynthia Landau gave her report, saying that LLNE’s finances are sound.
Darcy then delivered the report of the Nominating Committee. New Executive Board members would be Susan Sullivan, Boston College, Vice President/President-Elect and Jeanine Uppgard, University of Connecticut, Secretary. The Membership then approved the nominations. Maureen Quinlan, University of Maine will chair the Education Committee. John Pedini, Social Law Library and Michelle Pearse, Northeastern University School of Law Library, will edit the newsletter.

Sally Holterhoff, Valparaiso University and American Association of Law Libraries Board member making the annual Chapter visit gave a brief speech. She focused on the importance of maintaining professionalism at a time of great flux in the delivery of information. She cited an April 2002 Illinois Bar Journal article in which an attorney claimed that all of the information an attorney would ever use is readily available for free on the Internet. Librarians, she said, must counter such misinformation at every opportunity and in every medium.

The meeting then adjourned for the afternoon sessions.

AALL Executive Board member Sally Holterhoff addresses the luncheon crowd.


NEXT ITEM: New England Innovative Law Users Group Meeting Announced