SFALL Sun Logo

South Florida Association of Law Libraries

SFALL Through the Years

History of SFALL

Past Officers

Chapter Activity Reports:

As a result of a discussion among Dick Hutchins of the University of Miami Law Library, Kathy Stokes of Smathers & Thompson and Bob Wallace of Dade County Law Library, an organizational meeting of the law librarians of Dade and Broward counties was held on October 20, 1976. At this meeting, Maureen Gilully was chosen chairwoman and Muriel Efron (FIU), Angie Stramiello (Mershon, Sawyer), Pat Mulreany (Shutts & Bowen), Gilberto Fort (DCLL) and Bob Wallace (DCLL) volunteered as members of a temporary steering committee. Bi-monthly meetings were scheduled and publication of a newsletter in the intervening months was begun.

In March 1977, Maureen Gilully resigned as chairwoman and Conrad Painter became chairman. It was decided a more formal organization and dues were necessary.

By November, 1980, the membership considered affiliation with AALL and our application for chapter status was approved at the annual AALL convention held in Washington in June, 1981. Chapter status was granted under the name of South Florida Association of Law Libraries (SFALL) covering the five Florida counties of Broward, Collier, Dade, Monroe and Palm Beach.

In mid-1982 the South Florida Association of Law Libraries incorporated as a Florida non-profit corporation.


Home  Board  Members  Newsletter  Programs  Listserv  By-Laws  Jobs  Links  Contact