SNELLA's Obiter Dicta

Vol. 18 no. 3                                                            December 2002 

The Electronic Edition


Don't Forget!


Wednesday, January 15th 2002

Sans Souci Restaurant

2003 Berlin Turnpike, Meriden

 5:30 Cash Bar – 6:30 Dinner

Entrée Choices

1.      Chicken Piccatta…sautéed with lemon, capers, garlic and chardonnay wine.

2.      Grilled Salmon Filet…with white wine, butter and lemon.

3.      Certified Angus Prime Rib of Beef.

Yankee Swap

Those who wish to participate should bring a wrapped present. Here’s how it works: Numbers are drawn, choosing begins, swapping ensues, and fun abounds.  Presents should be in the $10.00 range.


Send your entrée choice and check before January 3rd to:

 Chris Roy

107 Grennan Road

West Hartford, CT 06107



Please make your check payable to SNELLA.


Name ________________________________


            ____ Chicken Piccatta - $25.00


____ Grilled Salmon Filet - $28.00


            ____ Prime Rib - $28.00





            2003 AALL Annual Meeting/Workshop Grants

Deadline: April 1, 2003

The AALL Grants Committee is now accepting applications for grants for the 2003 AALL Annual Meeting/Workshops. The AALL Grants Program provides financial assistance to newer law librarians or graduate school students who hold promise of future involvement in AALL and the law library profession.

Funds are provided by vendors, AALL and AALL individual members. Grants cover registration costs at either the Annual Meeting or Workshops. Preference is given to newer members of AALL or its chapters who are active participants in the association or one of its chapters.

For additional information, including the application form, see

The deadline for applications is April 1, 2003.




  2002/2003 Officers and Directors
President: Christopher Roy

Vice-President/President Elect: Susan Scoville

Past President: Linda Mellick

Secretary: Janet Zigadto

Treasurer: Theresa Baylock

Members at Large: Sandi Phillips and Caroline Grillo Benoit

Nominating Committee: Doug Apicella, Steve Mirsky and Louise Tucker


 SNELLA Committees 

Education Committee: Claudia Jalowka

Placement Committee: Janet Zigadto

Publications Committee: Lawrence Cheeseman

Public Relations Chair: Steve Mirsky

Scholarship Committee: Sandee Molden

Technology Committee: Mary Scott

Public Relations/ CBA Liaison/ AALL Relations Liaison: Dottie McCaughtry

 SNELLA Calendar

January 15, 2002

SNELLA Holiday Party


For information, contact: Christopher Roy


SNELLA Legal Research Course

Spring 2003


To subscribe email to: LISTSERV@LISTSERV.RC.COM. Leave the subject line blank. Your message should read: SUBSCRIBE SNELLA-LIB "Your Name" 

To send a message: 


 SNELLA Web Page 

 Publications Committee 

Article, comments or questions about the publication should be submitted to the Editor:

Lawrence Cheeseman

All materials submitted for publication is subject to editorial review. Electronic submissions are encouraged.