SIS Banner Image

Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section

Frederick Charles Hicks Award

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

The annual Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship recognizes an individual or group who has made outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship through continued efforts to improve law librarianship. The award, presented by the Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section (ALL-SIS) of the American Association of Law Libraries, is named in honor of Frederick Charles Hicks, the first great American law librarian/scholar who was also the first academic law librarian to serve as president of AALL.


Recipients of the Hicks Award

2015 Blair S. Kauffman Yale Law School
2014 Janet Sinder Brooklyn Law School
2013 Judith M. Wright University of Chicago
2012  Not awarded   
2011 Margaret Leary University of Michigan
2010 M. Kathleen Price University of Florida
2009 Nancy P. Johnson Georgia State University
2008   Roy M. Mersky University of Texas  
Robert L. Oakley Georgetown University  
2007   Not awarded    
2006   Roger F. Jacobs Notre Dame  
2005   Barbara Bintliff University of Colorado  
2004   Timothy L. Coggins University of Richmond  
2003   Bob Berring   University of California-Berkeley  
2002   Richard A. Danner Duke University  
2001   Frank G. Houdek Southern Illinois University  
2000   Penny Hazelton University of Washington  


Hicks Award Announcements: