Penny Hazelton Named Recipient of Frederick Charles Hicks Award for 2000

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

The Academic Law Libraries SIS is pleased to announce that Penny Hazelton (Professor of Law and Law Librarian at the University of Washington's Gallagher Law Library) has been selected as the first recipient of the new Frederick Charles Hicks Award. This award was created by the SIS to honor outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship by an individual or group.

Penny Hazelton's notable contributions to academic law librarianship have been made through her position as director of the law librarianship program at the University of Washington and in her many AALL leadership activities over a 25-year period. Her AALL service includes her term as AALL President in 1990-91 and her recent role as Chair of the AALL Task Force to Enhance Law Librarianship Education. In addition, she has been active in addressing academic law library issues as a speaker, author, and editorial board member.

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award was named for the first great American law librarian/scholar, who was also the first academic law librarian to be President of AALL. Information about Professor Hicks and his career can be found here.

The 2000 Hicks Award will be presented at the ALL-SIS Reception at the University of Pennsylvania's Biddle Law Library, during the AALL Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.