Roger Jacobs Receives 2006 Hicks Award

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

Roger Jacobs and Awards committee chair Ed Edmonds. Photo by Diane Murley.

Roger Jacobs was the 2006 recipient of the Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship, sponsored by the Academic Law Libraries SIS (ALL-SIS). The presentation of the award took place at the ALL-SIS reception on Tuesday, July 11, at Washington University School of Law.

Professor Jacobs recently retired as Associate Dean and Director of the Kresge Law Library at the Notre Dame Law School. Professor Jacobs was at Notre Dame for 21 years. From 1978–1985, Professor Jacobs served as Librarian of the Supreme Court of the United States. He was also the founding law librarian at the University of Windsor and the Southern Illinois University.

Professor Jacobs is past-president of both the American Association of Law Libraries (1981–1982) and the Canadian Association of Law Libraries (1971–1973) as well as the founding president of the Mid-America Association of Law Libraries (1974–1976). He has served on over 25 American Bar Association site evaluation teams and as a consultant to more than 10 law schools. He has been an extremely active member of AALL for more than 40 years, and he has been a frequent speaker on a wide range of law library issues.

During Professor Jacobs' tenure at Notre Dame, he established and directed a law library staff known for delivering outstanding service to all patrons while also building a strong collection. Because of his sustained service to academic law librarianship, Roger Jacobs is a most deserving recipient of the Frederick Charles Hicks Award.

The 2005–2006 ALL-SIS Awards committee consisted of Ed Edmonds, University of St. Thomas Law Library, Chair; Rhea Ballard-Thrower, Howard University Law Library; and John D. Edwards, Drake University Law Library.

Photo: Roger Jacobs and Awards committee chair Ed Edmonds. Photo by Diane Murley.