Award Winners

ALL-SIS logo

2014 Awards & Grants

See also Past Award Winners

The ALL-SIS Awards Committee is pleased to announce the following 2014 ALL-SIS awards and grants winners:

Frederick Charles Hicks Award

The 2014 ALL-SIS Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship recognizes an individual who has made continued efforts to improve law librarianship, and this year is awarded to Janet Sinder, Director of the Library at Brooklyn Law School.

Janet has made a tremendous contribution to the profession of law librarianship. During the course of her career, Janet has served as an editor of the Law Library Journal, Legal History and Rare Books SIS Newsletter, and the Membership News Column of the AALL Spectrum. Janet continues to serve as a Member of the Board of Editors of the Law Library Journal. In her many roles as editor, Janet has promoted scholarship among her fellow librarians by encouraging them to publish. In addition, she has been a speaker at AALL Conferences and SEAALL Meetings and has dedicated her career to developing the profession.

Outstanding Service Award

The 2014 ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award will be awarded to Barbara Traub, Head of Reference and Instructional Services, Rittenberg Law Library, St. John’s University, School of Law.  Barbara has made an exceptional contribution to ALL-SIS, as the editor of the Newsletter for the last four years.  Serving as Newsletter editor involves so much more than just the layout of the publication itself.  Barbara spends a considerable amount of time communicating with the Executive Board, Committee Chairs, and all authors to insure that the Newsletter is delivered in a timely fashion.   Barbara’s work as editor is essential in keeping all members of ALL-SIS informed and is most appreciated.

Outstanding Article Award

The 2014 All-SIS Outstanding Article Award goes to Cindy Guyer, for her article, Experiential Learning:  Context and Connections for Legal Research – A Case Study, 32 Legal Reference Services Q. 161 (2013).  Cindy works at the USC Gould School of Law and is currently serving ALL-SIS as an Executive Board Member-at-Large.


The 2014 ALL-SIS CONELL Grants are being awarded this year to Matthew E. Flyntz and Tara Mospan. They will each receive $500 for the purpose of attending CONELL at the conference this year.

Matthew E.  Flyntz is a graduate of William & Mary School of Law in Virginia, and is expecting to graduate this summer with his M.L.I.S. from the University of Washington.

Tara Mospan graduated from the University of Arizona last September with her Master of Arts in Information Resources and Library Science, and is currently working in the Ross-Blakley Law Library located at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, where she earned her J.D. degree.

Both Matthew and Tara have agreed to become members of the New Academic Law Librarians Meeting (NALLM)/Mentoring Committee and will write an article for the ALL-SIS Newsletter about their experience at CONELL.

Stimulus Grants

The 2014 ALL-SIS Active Member Stimulus Grant is being awarded to Ronald E. Wheeler, Director of the Dorraine Zief Law Library, University of San Francisco.  Ronald will receive $1000 to attend the conference this year.  He has been a member of an ALL-SIS Committee since 2006, and has served on the CALI Committee, Awards Committee (Chair), Nominations Committee(Chair), Program Committee, and the Bylaws Committee of ALL-SIS.  Ronald has also served on the AALL Executive Board, chaired numerous AALL committees, and has held elected positions in both RIPS-SIS and SR-SIS.

The 2014 ALL-SIS Regular Member Stimulus Grant winner is Laura Ross. Laura will receive $1000 to attend the conference this year.  Laura is currently the Digital Archivist at the Gould Law Library, at Touro Law Center. Laura was a member of the ALL-SIS Legal Research & Sourcebook Committee for the last two years, and facilitated roundtables for the committee during the 2012 and 2013 AALL conferences. She is currently serving on the AALL Continuing Professional Education Committee.

2014 ALL-SIS Leadership Academy Grant

Patrick Butler from the University of Connecticut Law School has won a grant in the sum of $750 to attend the Leadership Academy in April.  Patrick is the Electronic Resources and Reference Librarian at U. Conn., School of Law, and he graduated from there in 2011.  Although he is rather new to law librarianship, Patrick has been a librarian for some time, as he worked at Yale University as an academic librarian for many years.  Patrick is currently the chair of the Emerging Technologies Sub-Committee of CS-SIS and helped coordinate Cool Tools Café program in 2013 and 2014.

Recognition of the winners of the awards and grants will be at the ALL-SIS Reception and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Thomson Reuters and to be held on Sunday, July 13th at 6:30 p.m. at Sarita Kenedy East Law Library at St. Mary’s University School of Law.

Many thanks to all members of the committee who participated this year:  Kathleen Darvil, Brooklyn Law School; Joyce Janto, University of Richmond, School of Law; Cathy Wagar, Loyola University New Orleans; Michael Whiteman, NKU Chase College of Law; Annmarie Zell, NYU Law School.



Past Award Winners: