2009 Award Winners

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

The ALL-SIS Awards Committee is pleased to announce the following award winners. Winners will be recognized at the ALL-SIS business meeting and reception on Sunday, July 26th, at 6:30 p.m. at Georgetown Law.

Frederick Charles Hicks Award

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship recognizes the individual or group who has made outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship through continued efforts to improve law librarianship. The award is named in honor of Frederick Charles Hicks, the first great American law librarian/scholar who was also the first academic law librarian to serve as president of AALL. The winner of the Hicks Award for 2009 is Nancy P. Johnson, Associate Dean for Library and Information Services and Professor of Law, Georgia State University College of Law.

Outstanding Article Award

The ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award honors section members for contributions to the enhancement of academic law librarianship through publishing. The winners of the award for 2009 are: Daniel W. Martin, Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law, Loyola Law School, Katherine Pratt, Professor of Law, Loyola Law School, and Jennifer M. Kowal, Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Loyola LL.M. Tax Program for their article The Virtual Tax Library: A Comparison of Five Electronic Tax Research Platforms, 8 Florida Tax Review 931 (2008).

Outstanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award honors an ALL-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the SIS in areas of section activity and in professional service. The winner of the Outstanding Service Award for 2009 is Sara Kelley Burriesci, Reference/Electronic Services Librarian, Georgetown University Law Library