Publication Opportunities

PrintEmail

Publication Opportunities for FCIL-SIS Members (and other Law Librarians)

By Mary Rumsey

Writing for publication is a good way to contribute to the profession, and it’s not hard. You may want to start with a book review. Publications that accept book reviews are noted below. Where possible, the “About” link for each entry below connects to submission guidelines; if not, it links to the publication itself.

In addition to the publications below, consider writing for your local law library chapter or local or state bar publications. Please send any corrections or additions to this list to Mary Rumsey, rumse006@umn.edu.

AALL Spectrum

Trend or feature stories.
Contact: Mark Estes, mark.estes@hro.com, Julia O’Donnell, jodonnell@aall.org
About: http://www.aallnet.org/about/policy_spectrum.asp

ALL-SIS Newsletter

Short articles of interest to academic law librarians.
Contact: Leah Sandwell-Weiss, leah.sandwell-weiss@law.arizona.edu
About: http://www.aallnet.org/sis/allsis/newsletter/NewsLetter.html

Australian Law Librarian [ Australia]

Articles of interest to those working within the fields of legal librarianship and publishing. Book reviews.
Contact: Dorothy Shea, dorothy.shea@justice.tas.gov.au
Book review contact: Amanda Magnussen, Amanda.Magnussen@ipaustralia.gov.au
About: http://www.allg.asn.au/all/notes.htm

CALI (Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction)

Lessons on legal research. Authors must be affiliated with a CALI member law school.
Contact: Deb Quentel, dquentel@cali.org
About: http://www2.cali.org/

Canadian Law Library Review [ Canada]

Articles of interest to Canadian law librarians. Book reviews.
Contact: Lenore Rapkin, [contact through the CALL office, office@callacbd.ca]
About: http://www.callacbd.ca/index.php/publisher/articleview/frmArticleID/277/

FCIL-SIS Newsletter

Short articles on any aspect of FCIL librarianship.
Contact: Mabel Shaw, shawm@law.georgetown.edu
About: http://www.aallnet.org/sis/fcilsis/newsletter.html

GlobaLex

Research guides on foreign, international and comparative law.
Contact: Mirela Roznovschi, mr24@nyu.edu
About: http://www.nyulawglobal.com/globalex/index.html

International Journal of Legal Information

Articles, conference papers, bibliographies, book reviews, documents concerning law and law-related information. Book reviews.
Contact: Mark Engsberg, mark.engsberg@yale.edu
Contact for book reviews: Thomas Mills, twm26@cornell.edu
About: http://www.iall.org/journal.htm

Law Library Journal

Scholarly articles on any aspect of law librarianship. Book reviews.
Contact: Janet Sinder, jsinder@law.umaryland.edu
http://www.aallnet.org/products/llj_authors_guide.asp

Legal Information Alert

Practical and timely articles on research techniques or sources category or library management. Book reviews.
Contact: Donna Tuke Heroy, dheroy@alertpub.com
About: http://www.alertpub.com/authorguidelines.html

Legal Information Management [ UK]

Articles on any topic of interest to British and Irish law librarians. Book reviews.
Contact: Christine Miskin, christine.miskin@infoengineers.com
About: http://www.biall.org.uk/home.asp?id=fLIMsubmit

Legal Reference Services Quarterly

Scholarly articles (including bibliographies) on legal materials and their use in legal research.
Contact: Michael Chiorazzi, michael.chiorazzi@law.arizona.edu
About: http://www.haworthpress.com/store/product.asp?sku=J113

LLRX.com

Research guides on US, foreign, international and comparative law.
Contact: Sabrina Pacifici, spacific@earthlink.net.
About: http://www.llrx.com/about.htm

PLL PERSPECTIVES [Private Law Librarians SIS]

Short articles of interest to librarians in law firms and corporations.
Contact: Georgeanne (Jan) Brown, gbrown@mmwr.com
About: http://www.aallnet.org/sis/pllsis/newslett/newsletter.html

SCCLL News [State, Court, & County Law Libraries SIS]

Short articles of interest to librarians in state, court, and county law libraries.
Contact: Kim Ositis, kim.ositis@metrokc.gov
About: http://aallnet.org/sis/sccll/membership/newsletter.htm

last updated May 7, 2008