Awards Committee



The PLL Awards Committee coordinates PLL efforts to publicly recognize the achievements of private law librarians based on service to the profession.


Saskia Mehlhorn
Interim Library Director
Norton Rose Fulbright US, LLP
1301 McKinney St. Ste 5100
Houston, TX 77010
Phone: (713) 651-3670


PLL Award Nominations
As we all know there are many unsung heroes amongst our ranks and the PLL Awards committee invites you to nominate these to any of the awards presented this year. Awards will be given in the following nine categories:

  • Distinguished Librarian
  • Hall of Fame
  • Advocate of the Year
  • Innovative Professional of the Year
  • Best Blogger/Writer of the Year
  • Rookie of the Year
  • Emerging Leader of the Year
  • Service to PLL Award
  • Vendor/Outside champion Award –  New Award
Please take a look at the description here and use the nomination form.   

Nominations will be accepted until April 10, 2015.  Self-nomination is acceptable and encouraged. 

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me

We are pleased to announce the 2014 winners of the following PLL awards:

2014 PLL Award Recipients
  • Innovative Professional of the Year – Ralph Monaco, Steve Lastres, Saskia Mehlhorn, and Alirio Gomez
  • Best Blogger/Writer of the Year – Jean O’Grady
  • Hall of Fame – Barbara Holt, Anne Ellis, and Joan Jarosek
  • Advocate of the Year – Bess Reynolds, Scott Bailey
  • Distinguished Librarian – Robert Oaks
  • Emerging Leader – Ellyssa Kroski
PLL-SIS Grant Recipients
  • PLL Summit Registration Grants – Patricia Barbone, Mark Desierto
  • PLL Travel Grants - Patricia Barbone, Mark Desierto, Heather Williams

We would also like to recognize PLL members who have won the following AALL awards:

Volunteer Service Award

Karen B. Brunner
Director of Library Services
Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti LLP
Morristown, New Jersey

The Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award

Ellyssa Kroski
Director of Information Technology
New York Law Institute
New York, New York
Law Librarianship in the Digital Age

AALL Spectrum Article of the Year Award

Ingrid Mattson, Reference Librarian
Ohio State University, Moritz Law Library
Columbus, Ohio

Linda-Jean Schneider, Electronic Resources Manager
Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

"Negotiating and Complying with Electronic Database License Agreements" AALL Spectrum, February 2013

To learn more about the PLL Awards, please read the descriptions and documents linked below.