2001-2002 PLL Travel  Grants Committee


2001-2002 PLL Travel Grants Committee
Annual Report  

The members of the PLL Travel Grants Committee for 2001-2002 were:

Randall J. Thompson, Chair, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Margarita Bull, Mountain West College, West Valley City, Utah
Mary D. Mahoney, Peterson, Johnson & Murray SC, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Virginia L. Smith, Chaffe, McCall, Phillips, Toler & Sarpy, LLP, New Orleans, Louisiana
Barbara Tanzer, Kirkpatrick & Lockhart, LLP, New York, New York

The 2001-2002 PLL Travel Grant recipients were:

Wynne Browne, Downs Rachlin Martin, St. Johnsbury, Vermont
Joni L. Cassidy, Cassidy Cataloging Services, Inc., Harrison, New Jersey
Anna Marie Delgado, Arter & Hadden, LLP, Los Angeles, California
Constance P. Dickson, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, Washington, DC
Amy Eaton, Independent Law Librarian, Kent, Washington
Lee R. Nemchek, Morrison & Foerster LLP, Los Angeles, California
Tracey M. Pardo, Cooley Godward LLP, San Diego, California
Stephanie Pierson, LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae, LLP, Newark, New Jersey
Staci Steadman, Troy & Gould, Los Angeles, California
Denise Uzee, Kean, Miller Law Firm, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

There were twelve applicants.  One withdrew her application and another returned the grant after it was awarded.

PLL Executive Board rules limit the amount the Committee can award in any one year to $2,500.00.  However, the Committee, after much internal discussion, requested and received Executive Board approval to waive the grant limits for this year.  The Committee requested this waiver in response to last year�s economic downturn and the events of September 11 which caused firms to cut back on travel expenses this year. The Committee believed that the $2,500.00 limit would severely restrict the number of grants it could award, and without such grants, several otherwise deserving applicants might be unable to attend the conference.  The Committee further recommended, and the Executive Committee approved, that this year�s waiver of limits be a one time only event.

Because of the grant limit waiver, the estimated amount awarded this year was $3,343.00.  A final accounting is not yet available.

Early in 2002, personal circumstances forced this year�s original Chair to relinquish the position.  The current Chair wishes to thank his predecessor for her initial work with the Committee and her efforts to ease the transition.

Because of delays resulting from the change in Chairs, the Committee was late in advertising this year�s grants.  Advertising consisted solely of placing information on the PLL web site and issuing email notifications on Law-lib and the PLL listserv.  The Chair wishes to thank Terry Psarras, the PLL webmaster, for his prompt assistance in updating the Committee�s information on the web site. 

The Chair noted some confusion existed among the grant recipients regarding exactly what costs the grants covered and the procedures they were to follow to actually receive the grants.  Traditionally, the grants have only covered the recipients� airfare.  To receive the grants, the recipients are to contact the AALL Travel Desk which makes the travel arrangements on their behalf and bills the cost directly to the PLL travel fund.  The Chair believes these procedures need to be made more explicit in next year�s advertising.

The Executive Committee requested the Travel Grants Committee submit a proposal on ways to award grants to PLL members to attend other continuing educational functions in addition to the annual conference.  The Committee has held initial discussions on the topic and is working on developing a formal proposal.

The Chair wishes to thank the members of the Committee for all the time and effort they put into Committee work this year.  Their willingness to do whatever was asked of them was greatly appreciated.  The entire Committee wishes to thank Global Securities Information, Inc. and LIVEDGAR for their continuing support of the travel grants program.

Respectfully submitted,

Randall J. Thompson