2013 Election Begins April 1

State Court and County Law Libraries SIS elections begin Monday, April 1, 2013.

The 2012/2013 SCCLL Nominating Committee, comprised of Donna Bausch, Jessie Burchfield and Chair Judy Meadows, is pleased to announce the following candidates for the 2013 election.

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect (2013-2014)

  • Maryruth Storer, Orange County Public Law Library, CA

Secretary/Treasurer (2013-2016)

  • Jennifer Murray, Maricopa County Superior Court, AZ

Member-At-Large (2013-2016)

  • James Durham, Maryland State Law Library, MD

In addition to the election of officers, you will vote on the proposed amendments to the SCCLL Bylaws.  The software as provided by the American Association of Law Libraries is written specifically for the election of officers.  We wanted to include the Bylaws amendments on the same ballot, so some of the language on the ballot is not directly applicable to voting for bylaws amendments.  Please ignore the phrase "One-year term" under the heading SCCLL Bylaws Amendment. 

Please vote for one, either YES to amend the Bylaws or NO to amend the Bylaws.  The text of the Bylaws can be found by clicking on the "view biography" link.

The candidates' background and personal statements as well as the amendments are available at https://vote.aallnet.org/sis-sccll/ .  The election will conducted online and will begin Monday, April 1, 2013.

The deadline to submit ballots is 11:59 pm, Central Time, Friday, April 19, 2013.

You should receive an email message from AALL the morning of Monday, April 1, containing your login information.  You will need your login information to access the online election and cast your vote.  If you do not receive this email message, or if you have any questions about the process, please contact me (email: 
rita.dermody@kingcounty.gov, phone:  206-296-0940).

Your participation is vital in order to keep our SIS membership strong and to sustain SCCLL SIS as an important and active component of AALL.

The Nominations Committee thanks the candidates for their willingness to take a leadership role in SCCLL.  We also thank those who have nominated colleagues or themselves for helping to keep our Section active.