Education

PrintEmail

Seeking "Must Have" Topics for 2015 Annual Meeting

The Annual Meeting Program Committee wants to make sure that no major topics are missed at next year's annual meeting. To this end, they have developed six Content Area Teams (CATs; see AMPC CAT FAQ) which are tasked to identify 6 must-have topics within each of the content areas listed below:

  • Management/Leadership
  • Collaboration
  • Technology
  • Content Management
  • Raising the Profile of the Library/Librarian
  • Legal Research/Reference

In order to support this process, each SIS is being asked to submit potential program topics. These topics will be narrowed down by AMPC to 30 "must-have" topics and will be used as part of the call for proposals to be announced later in August. Each CAT has a deadline of August 1 for receipt of any potential "must-have" topics.

Please email your ideas to any member of the TS-SIS Education Committee (see below) or post a suggestion via MyCommunities by Monday, July 28th. This will give the committee sufficient time to organize the proposed topics and forward them to the appropriate CAT chair for consideration.

About Education Committee

See the TS-SIS Handbook for more information about the committee.

Chair

John P. Jensen (Chair)
Assistant Director for Technical Services
Oliver B. Spellman Law Library
Southern University Law Center
(225) 771-4973
jjensen@sulc.edu

TS-SIS Education Committee 2014
Planning for 2015 AALL Annual Meeting

Cynthia Myers
Head of Collection Development and Technical Services
George Mason University Law Library
(703) 993-8592
cmyersj@gmu.edu

Katherine Marshall
katherine.n.marshall@gmail.com

Patricia Sayre-McCoy
Head, Law Cataloging and Serials
D'Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago
(773) 702-9620
psm1@uchicago.edu

Brian Striman
Head of Technical Services
Marvin & Virginia Schmid Law Library
University of Nebraska College of Law
(402) 472-8286
Brian.striman@unl.edu

Hollie White
(Ex-officio TS-SIS Vice Chair)
Digital Initiatives Librarian
Duke University School of Law
(919) 613-8560
hollie.white@law.duke.edu

Ashley Moye
(Ex-officio 1st Year Member at Large)
Charlotte School of Law
(704) 971-8567
amoye@charlottelaw.edu

Standing Committee Representatives

Lia Contursi
(Cataloging & Classification)
Head, Monographs Cataloging
Arthur W. Diamond Law Library
Columbia University
(212) 854-0093
acontu@law.columbia.edu

Diana Jaque
(Acquisitions)
Head of Collection Development and Acquisitions
Barnett Information Technology Center and Call Law Library
USC Gould School of Law
(213) 740-6482
djaque@law.usc.edu

Maxine Wright
(Preservation)
International and Foreign Law Collection and Services Librarian
Georgetown Law
John Wolff International & Comparative Law Library
(202) 662-4265
mw960@law.georgetown.edu

Stephanie Schmitt
(Professional Development)
Asst. Technical Services and Systems Librarian
UC Hastings Law Library
schmitts@uchastings.edu

Gilda Chiu
(Serials)
Acquisitions and Collection Development Librarian
Brooklyn Law School Library
gilda.chiu@brooklaw.edu