ARCHIVED: "Wendell H. Ford Government Publications Reform Act of 1998," S. 2288

  • Bookmark and Share

September 28, 1998

the "Wendell H. Ford Government Publications
Reform Act of 1998"

The Senate Committee on Rules and Administration has been unable to mark-up S. 2288 because of tremendous opposition to the bill from Xerox Corp. and other information technology companies who rely on the sale of products to federal agencies.

If we are to get S. 2288 to the Senate floor for an open and full debate, and if we are to get the chapter 19 provisions enacted to strengthen and enhance public access to government publications, S. 2288 MUST BE MARKED-UP TODAY AND REPORTED OUT OF THE SENATE RULES COMMITTEE.

I urgently ask that you fax or call your Senator--if listed below as a member of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee. A short sample letter follows, as well as a list of Committee members and staff.

Thank you,

Mary Alice Baish
Assistant Washington Affairs Representative
and Member, Inter-Association Working Group on
Government Information Policy
American Association of Law Libraries
Edward B. Williams Law Library
111 G Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001-1417
Voice: 202.662.9200
FAX: 202.662.9202

September 28, 1998

Dear Senator .......:

As your constituent and a librarian at --------, I urge you, as a member of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, to attend today's 5:30 p.m. mark-up session on S. 2288, the "Wendell H. Ford Government Publications Reform Act of 1998," and to vote in support of this legislation.

The enactment of S. 2288 is critically important to the American public's ability to access government information in all formats and from all three branches of government. As a law librarian, I am committed to the principle that government information is a right of every American, and that it must be equitably available to all citizens of (name of your state).

S. 2288 must be enacted this year to strengthen the Federal Depository Library Program and to ensure that the American public has access to government publications in all formats today and in the future.

Thank you very much for your support in getting S. 2288 reported favorably out of Committee so that it can move to the Senate floor for a full and open debate.



John Warner (R-VA), Chairman -- CO-SPONSOR OF S.2288
Staff: Grayson Winterling 202-224-8824; FAX: 202-224-6295

Jesse Helms (R-NC)
Staff: Joe Lanier 202-224-6342; FAX: 202-228-1339

Ted Stevens (R-AK)
Staff: Butch Burke 202-224-2163; FAX: 202-224-2354

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Staff: Leslie Cupp 202-224-2541; FAX: 202-224-2499

Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Staff: Michael Loeshe 202-224-5054; FAX: 202-224-9450

Rick Santorum (R-PA)
Staff: Will Sears 202-224-6324; FAX: 202-228-0604

Don Nickles (R-OK)
Staff: Kourtney Spencer 202-224-5754; FAX:202-224-6008

Trent Lott (R-MS)
Staff: Robert Wilkey 202-224-3135; FAX: 202-224-2262

Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
Staff: Quin Dodd 202-224-5922; FAX: 202-224-0776

Wendell Ford (D-KY), Ranking Minority Member -- CO-SPONSOR OF S.2288
Staff: Kennie Gill 202-224-6351; FAX: 202-224-5400

Robert Byrd (D-WV)
Staff: 202-224-3954; FAX: 202-228-0002

Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
Staff: Chrystin Alston 202-224-3934; FAX: 202-224-6747

Daniel Moynihan (D-NY)
Staff: Mark Bradley 202-224-4451; FAX: 202-228-0406

Christopher Dodd (D-CT)
Staff: Allison Marinoff 202-224-2823; FAX: 202-224-1083

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Staff: Matt Miller 202-224-3841; FAX: 202-228-4741

Robert Torricelli (D-NJ)
Staff: Keith Roachford 202-224-3224; FAX: 202-224-8567