ARCHIVED: Funding for the State Justice Institute

  • Bookmark and Share

Early this week, we were alerted to the fact that the House Appropriations Committee zero funded the State Justice Institute for FY 2000. (H.R. 2670, the Departments of Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act, 2000).

The SJI had requested $15 million for FY 2000. The Senate Committee on Appropriations approved $6.85 million (which equals the SJI's appropriations for FY 1999), and noted in report language that another $8 million would be available to them from the Federal Judiciary's budget for FY 2000.

Conferees have been named and will be meeting shortly.

On Tuesday we faxed out two letters, one to all Senate conferees and one to all House conferees, You'll find both letters detailing information about the importance of funding the SJI at:

If your Senator or Representative is listed below as a member of the conference committee, it is critically important that they hear from you ASAP about this issue.

Senate members need to stand firm in supporting the amount they have approved for the SJI. And we need to turn some of the House members into supporting the amount appropriated by the Senate.

Phone calls are best at this point in time, and the sooner the better.

Last but not least, please forward this alert to your state chapter listserv, or even to friends/colleagues in states represented by the conferees. We need to generate lots of calls and rally others to help on this important issue.

Thanks, Mary Alice


Sen. Judd Gregg (R-NH) --Chairman, Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, State, and the Judiciary

Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
Sen. Pete V. Domenici (R-NM)
Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO)
Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Sen. Ernest F. Hollings (D-SC)
Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI)
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD)
Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Sen. Robert C. Byrd (D-WV)


Rep. Harold Rogers (R-5-KY)--Chair, House Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, State, the Judiciary and Related Agencies

Rep. Jim Kolbe (R-5-AZ)
Rep. Charles H. Taylor (R-11-NC)
Rep. Ralph Regula (R-16-OH)
Rep. Tom Latham (R-5-IA)
Rep. Dan Miller (R-13-FL)
Rep. Zach Wamp (R-3-TN)
Rep. Jose E. Serrano (D-16-NY)
Rep. Julian C. Dixon (D-32-CA)
Rep. Alan B. Mollohan (D-1-WV)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-33-CA)