ARCHIVED: Grants Committee

  • Bookmark and Share

View the Committee Roster

TYPE: Process Committee

PURPOSE: The Grants Committee is charged with coordinating the grant program to further the interests and goals of the Association and its members by providing grants to cover registration costs at either the Annual Meeting or a workshop associated with the Annual Meeting.

CHARGE: The Committee shall review and recommend to the Executive Board criteria for grant awards according to contemporary funding circumstances; coordinate the procurement, receipt and acknowledgement of grant funds; publicize the availability of grants, solicit applications, and award grants according to established criteria.

TIME COMMITMENT: Committee members work about 16-20 hours after the April 1 submission deadline, evaluating and scoring grant applications for experienced and student/new members. The time is dependent on the number of applications received. The chair and vice-chair have additional responsibilities managing subcommittees, publicizing the grants through AALL Spectrum and other venues, or working with Headquarters on funds availability. The work is gratifying to grant funds to members who might not otherwise be able to attend the Annual Meeting or a workshop. Note: Time commitments are estimates from past assignments and can change with new projects or requests for assistance from the Executive Board.

TENURE: Membership on the Committee shall normally be for two (2) years, except that the Vice Chair and Chair will each serve three (3) years. The returning member selected as Vice Chair at the end of the first year shall serve in that capacity in the second year and become the Chair of the committee for an additional third year.

SIZE: The Committee shall normally consist of a Chair, Vice Chair, five (5) members, and a non-voting Executive Board liaison.


Goal II: Education

RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER COMMITTEES/STRUCTURES: The Scholarships Committee performs similar work. The Grants Committee works with the Diversity Committee to screen for duplication in the awarding of the Minority Leadership Development Award, the recipient of which is chosen by the Diversity Committee.