ARCHIVED: Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award Application

  • Bookmark and Share


The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1984 to recognize extended and sustained service to law librarianship, for the exemplary service to the Association, or for contributions to the professional literature. The award was renamed the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award in 1990.


The Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has completed or is nearing completion of an active professional career. The Award is given in recognition of outstanding, extended and sustained service to law librarianship and to AALL. Honorees may be recognized for achievement in a particular area of law librarianship, for service to the Association, or for outstanding contributions to the professional literature. The individual must be or at one time have been a member of the American Association of Law Libraries. Nominees are those who are or at one time have been a member of AALL and who are near to or at the end of their careers. The award may be given posthumously.

Application Information:

Download the application

The deadline for nominations is February 1 of each year. Nominations should include either additional supporting letters or the names of the other persons to contact for further information concerning the nominee. Each candidate shall be considered individually and confidentially and will be judged according to the criteria listed above.

Petitions and letter writing campaigns (beyond those letters included with the application) are discouraged and will not be considered in the evaluation process nor will they influence the Committee.

Send nominations and accompanying documentation to:

Ms. Camille Broussard
Mendik Law Library
New York Law School
185 W. Broadway
New York, NY 10013

Phone: (212) 431-2354
Fax: (212) 965-8839

The Award shall be a plaque issued by the American Association of Law Libraries.

Previous Winners:

  • 2009
    Patrick E. Kehoe, American University
    Elizabeth Ann Puckett, University of Georgia School of Law

  • 2008
    Robert L. Oakley (posthumously), Georgetown University Law Library

  • 2007
    Carol D. Billings, Director, Law Library of Louisiana, New Orleans, LA
    Roger F. Jacobs, Retired (2006), Associate Dean and Professor of Law, Kresge Law Library, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, IN
    Cossette T. Sun, Law Library Director, Bernard E. Witkin Alameda County Law Library, Oakland, CA

  • 2006
    No award

  • 2005
    Charles R. Dyer, Director of Libraries, San Diego County Public Law Library, San Diego, CA
    Michael S. Miller, Retired Director, Maryland State Law Library, Annapolis, MD
    Roy M. Mersky, Harry M. Reasoner Regents Chair in Law and Director of Research, The Jamail Center for Legal Research, Tarlton Law Library, University of Texas at Austin School of Law, Austin, TX

  • 2004
    Shirley Hart David, Director, Sacramento County Public Law Library, Sacramento, CA
    Thomas H. Reynolds, Associate Law Librarian Emeritus University of California School of Law Library, Boalt Hall, Berkeley, CA

  • 2003
    Marvin R. Anderson, Retired State Law Librarian, Minnesota State Law Library, St. Paul, MN.
    Leah F. Chanin, Retired Professor of Law and Director, Furman Smith Law Library, Mercer University, Macon, GA.
    Francis Robert “Bob” Doyle, Director, Loyola University Chicago School of Law Library, Chicago, IL.

  • 2002
    Jacqueline S. Wright, ,Retired Librarian, Arkansas Supreme Court Library, Little Rock, Arkansas

  • 2001
    Marian Boner (deceased), Retired Director, Texas State Law Library, Austin, Texas
    Francis Gates, Retired Circuit Librarian, U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, San Francisco, California

  • 2000
    Balfour Halevy, Retired Law Librarian, York University, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Adolf Sprudzs, Retired Foreign and International Librarian, University of Chicago Law Library, Chicago, Illinois

  • 1999
    Edgar J. Bellefontaine, Boston, Massachusetts
    Eileen H. Searls, St.. Louis University Law Library

  • 1998
    Richard L. Beer, Lake Orion, Michigan
    Bardie C. Wolfe, Jr., St. Thomas University Law Library

  • 1997
    Marie Wallace
    Betty Taylor, University of Florida, College of Law Legal Information Center

  • 1996
    No award

  • 1995
    Al Coco
    Dan Henke
    Mortimer Schwartz

  • 1994
    Jack S. Ellenberger
    Elizabeth Finley
    Diana Vincent-Daviss

  • 1993
    Jane L. Hammond
    Blanka Kudej

  • 1992
    Elizabeth Benyon
    Mary W. Oliver

  • 1991
    Connie E. Bolden
    Morris L. Cohen
    Anthony P. Grech

  • 1990
    Viola Bird
    Hibernia Turbeville

  • 1989
    Harry Bitner
    Leon M. Liddell
    George Strait

  • 1988
    Earl Borgeson
    Forrest Drummond
    Frank Lukes
    Bethany Ochal

  • 1987
    Arthur Charpentier
    J. Myron Jacobstein
    William Murphy

  • 1986
    Julius J. Marke

  • 1985
    No award

  • 1984
    Marian Gould Gallagher