ARCHIVED: Minority Leadership Development Award

  • Bookmark and Share
Minority Leadership Development Award

Approved by AALL Executive Board March 2001, Tab 27
Revised July 2001, Tab 33


The Minority Leadership Development Award was created in March 2001 to assure that AALL's leadership remains vital, relevant and representative of the Association's diverse membership. The Award shall consist of the following benefits: travel, lodging and registration expenses for one recipient to attend the Annual Meeting of AALL; an experienced AALL leader to serve as the recipient's mentor for at least one year; and an opportunity to serve on an AALL committee during the year following the monetary award.


Upon submission of the application, an applicant must meet all of the following criteria to be considered for the award:

  • Be a member of a minority group as defined by current U.S. government guidelines;
  • Have a strong academic record and have earned a Master's degree in Library/Information Science;
  • Have no more than 5 years of professional (post-MLS or post-JD) library or information service work experience;
  • Be a current member of AALL at the time application is submitted;
  • Have been a member of AALL for at least 2 years or have 2 years of full time, professional law library work experience; and
  • Demonstrate leadership potential.


Submit an application package containing:

  • A complete, legible application form.
  • An official transcript from all relevant graduate programs attended, i.e., library/information science and law school.
  • Three letters of reference from individuals who can evaluate your law library employment experience or relevant graduate education.
  • A personal statement discussing your professional interests, goals and leadership potential.
  • Copy of current resume is optional.

Application Form:


The complete application package must be received by April 1. Send package to address below.

Chair, Committee on Diversity
American Association of Law Libraries
53 W. Jackson Blvd Suite 940
Chicago, IL 60604

Previous Winners

  • 2008 Recipients

    Lauren Collins

    Duke University School of Law Library

  • 2007 Recipients

    Dennis C. Kim-Prieto
    Reference Librarian
    Rutgers School of Law-Newark, Newark, NJ

  • 2005 Recipients

    Ronald E. Wheeler Jr.
    Head of Faculty and Public Services, Lecturer III
    University of New Mexico Law Library, Albuquerque, NM

  • 2004 Recipients

    June S. Kim
    Reference Librarian
    UCLA School of Law, Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, Los Angeles, California

  • 2003 Recipients

    Christopher Bloodworth
    Access Services Librarian, Arthur Neef Law Library
    Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan

  • 2002 Recipients

    Tanya Brown
    Head Librarian, Spiegel & Mcdiarmid, Washington, D.C.

    Donna Nixon
    Reference Librarian, Katherine W. Everett Law Library
    University Of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina