ARCHIVED: Robert L. Oakley Member Advocacy Award

  • Bookmark and Share

Approved April 2008, Executive Board Meeting, Tab 5

Established in 2008, the Member Advocacy Award is given to recognize an AALL member who has been an outstanding advocate and has contributed significantly to the AALL policy agenda at the federal, state, local, or international level. The award honors the memory of Robert L. Oakley, AALL�s Washington affairs representative (1989-2007).


Recipient of the award will be an individual who is a member of AALL. A member of any category is eligible. Current members of the Government Relations Committee are not eligible.

Administration Of The Award

The Oakley Member Advocacy Award shall be administered by the AALL Government Relations Committee in coordination with the AALL Awards Committee. The Government Relations Committee shall solicit and review nominations for the Award. The Committee will select one (1) or more recipients each year for the Oakley Member Advocacy Award, or no recipient if it deems none of the nominees sufficiently qualified, and will submit the winning recipient's name(s) to the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee will oversee the grant of the Oakley Member Advocacy Award to the recipient(s) selected by the Government Relations Committee.

Judging Criteria

* A significant contribution to the advocacy agenda of the Association. The award is given in accordance with AALL's mission to provide leadership in the field of legal information and to promote equal access to government information. The award will reflect this by honoring the achievements of those who have been especially energetic or effective advocates of this mission.

* The extent to which the individual has been an active advocate for law libraries and legal information at the federal, state or local level.

* The extent to which the advocacy advances the AALL mission and Government Relations Policy.

Award Process

Nominations for this award are to be sent to the Chair of the Government Relations Committee, via email or regular mail.

Deadline for nomination: Normally, nominations must be submitted no later than February 1 of each year. However, for 2009 only, the deadline has been extended to February 28 to allow the committee ample time to complete its deliberations and the administrative aspects of the award by April 15.

The Government Relations Committee will review the nominations and make a final decision on who will receive the award. Each nominee shall be considered individually and confidentially and will be judged according to the criteria listed above. Sources of information for the committee about a candidate include the nominating letter(s) and recommendation(s) from the Government Relations Committee. To ensure confidentiality, contact with members of AALL other than the person(s) nominating, Awards Committee members, and Government Relations Committee members should be avoided.

Frequency and number of awards: The Award may be presented annually, but there is no requirement that the award be given each year.

Award Presentation

The award shall be presented during the AALL Annual Meeting, and it will be given in the name of the Association. It will consist of an appropriate memorial to honor the achievements of the individual or organization.

Previous Winners

  • 2009
    Richard J. McKinney, Federal Reserve Board Law Library

  • 2008
    Robert L. Oakley (posthumously)
    Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law
    Georgetown University Law Library
    Washington, D.C.