ARCHIVED: AALL Awards Committee Announces 1997 Recipients

  • Bookmark and Share

June 9, 1997

The American Association of Law Libraries' (AALL) Awards Committee has selected the recipients for 4 different awards that comprise the AALL Awards Program, which publicly recognizes the achievements of law librarians based on service to the profession and contributions to legal literature and materials. The awards will be presented at the 91st Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, July 19-24, 1997.

Betty W. Taylor, Director, Legal Information Center, and Professor of Law, College of Law, University of Florida) and Marie Wallace, a retired member, have been chosen for the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes extended and sustained service to law librarianship for exemplary service to the Association or for contributions to professional literature. It is the highest honor presented by the Association.

Penny A. Hazelton, Peggy Roebuck Jarrett, Nancy McMurrer, Cheryl Rae Nyburg, and Mary Whisner of the Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, School of Law, University of Washington have been awarded the Joseph L. Andrews Bibliographical Award for their work, The Washington Legal Researcher's Deskbook, 2d (Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, 1996). This award was established in 1967 in honor of Joseph L. Andrews, Reference Librarian at the Association of the Bar of the City of New York. The Andrews Award is given for significant contribution to legal bibliographical literature, measured primarily by its creative and evaluative elements and the extent to which judgment was a factor in its formulation.

James S. Heller, Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law, Marshall Wythe Law Library, College of William and Mary, is the recipient of the Law Library Journal Article of the Year Award for his article, "The Impact of Recent Litigation on Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery," 88 L. Libr. J. 158 (1996). Established in 1989, this award honors outstanding achievement in research and writing as represented by published work in Law Library Journal. Members of the Law Library Journal and AALL Spectrum Advisory Committee recommend finalists to the Awards Committee, which selects the recipient of the award.

BNA's Health and Law Business Series 1996 has been selected as 1997's Best New Product Award, presented to a new information product which enhances or improves existing law library services or procedures, or which improves access to legal information or the legal research process.

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.