ARCHIVED: AALL President Frank Houdek to Announce Presidential Certificates of Merit

  • Bookmark and Share

July 16, 1997

American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) President Frank Houdek will present seven Presidential Certificates of Merit to individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to AALL during the past year. The certificates will be presented at the first business meeting on Monday, July 21, which is part of the AALL's 90th Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, July 19-24, 1997.

While special awards have occasionally been bestowed by presidents in previous years to honor meritorious service, this marks the first time that Certificates of Merit have been used to recognize specific achievements in a president's term of office. In explaining the purpose of awarding the recipients, Houdek said, "Each has worked way beyond the call of duty to make particularly significant enhancements to the programs and services of our Association and to the profession generally. They deserve our recognition and thanks." The recipients are as follows:

The Task Force on Citation Formats, the Citation Format Committee, and Lynn Foster (Law Library Director/Professor of Law, University of Arkansas at Little Rock/Pulaski County Law Library), Chair, Task Force on Citation Formats (1994-1995), Marcia J. Koslov (State Law Librarian, Wisconsin State Law Library), Chair, Citation Format Committee (1996-1997), and Rita T. Reusch (Director of the Law Library, University of Utah Law Library), Chair, Citation Format Committee (1995-1996) are recognized for exceptional achievement in initiating a national debate on public domain and universal citation format and establishing AALL as a recognized leader in the field of citation reform.

The Northern California Association of Law Libraries (NOCALL), the Southern California Association of Law Libraries (SCALL), Catherine Hardy (Documents/Media Librarian, Venture Law Group), Chair, NOCALL, Government Relations Committee and David McFadden (Senior Reference Librarian, Southwestern University School of Law Library) Chair, SCALL Government Relations Committee are recognized for exceptional achievement in drafting and then helping secure passage of California Senate Bill 1507 to ensure that legislative records and agency rulemaking files would be retained, made publicly available, and preserved.

The Ad Hoc Advisory Group on Chapter Relations and Sally Holterhoff (Government Documents Librarian, Valparaiso University School of Law Library), Chair, Ad Hoc Committee on Chapter Relations, are recognized for exceptional achievement in creating a vision for a mutually supportive alliance between AALL and its chapters and implementing this vision by launching a quarterly bulletin and annual training roundtables for chapter leaders.

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.