ARCHIVED: AALL Alert: 1998 Candidates for AALL Leadership Announced

  • Bookmark and Share

September 23, 1997

The Nominations Committee is charged with the responsibility of presenting a slate of candidates that, if elected, would maintain a balance on the Executive Board of members by library type, geography, gender and minority representation to the extent possible. In 1998, the continuing Executive Board Members will be James Heller, President; Judith Meadows, Past President; Susan Siebers, Secretary; Mark Folmsbee, Heather Braithwaite Simmons, Nancy P. Johnson and Kate Martin, Members. The Committee noted that the seven continuing member on the 1998 Executive Board would consist of three academic law librarians, three private law librarians, and one state, county and court law librarian. Geographically, three members would be from the Midwest, two from the East, one from the Southeast and one from the West/Southwest. Of these seven continuing members in 1998, no minorities would be represented.

The slate of candidates for the 1998 American Association of Law Libraries elections:

For the office of Vice-President/President-Elect:

Margaret Maes Axtmann
University of Minnesota

Alvin M. Podboy
Baker & Hostetler LLP

For the office of Treasurer:

Janis L. Johnston
University of Notre Dame

Faye E. Jones
Hastings College of the Law

For the office of Member of the Executive Board:

Rhea Ballard-Thrower
Georgia State University

Ruth A. Fraley
State of New York Unified Court System

Frank Y. Liu
Duquesne University

Anne C. Matthewman
The Metropolitan Toronto Lawyers Association