ARCHIVED: 1998 AALL Awards Program Announces New Awards, February 1st Deadline

  • Bookmark and Share

January 5, 1998

Entries and nominations are now being accepted for several awards to be presented in 1998 by the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL). These include two new awards, one which is focused on external library marketing and the other on internal library publications. Deadline for all award submissions is February 1, 1998.

The EXCELLENCE IN MARKETING AWARD recognizes outstanding achievement in public relations activities during the previous year in five categories: Best Brochure, Best Newsletter, Best Campaign, Best P.R. Tool Kit, and Best Use of Technology. Entries must explain in detail how the material or activity was used to achieve a marketing goal with a target audience.

The LAW LIBRARY PUBLICATIONS AWARD honors achievement in creating outstanding in-house library materials, either print or non-print, such as bibliographies, annual reports, pathfinders, brochures, newsletters, videotapes, or software.

Entries for both these award competitions may be submitted by individual AALL or Chapter members, by a library staff, or by a Chapter, Special Interest Section, or other AALL-affiliated group.

Separate brochures containing the requirements and application form for each new award are available at the American Association of Law Libraries Web site, AALLNET ( or through AALL Fax-On-Demand. To receive a print copy, contact Cindy Cicco for the Law Library Publications Award at 412/648-1329, or contact Sally Holterhoff for the Excellence in Marketing Award at 219/465-7866.

For many years AALL has presented awards to honor distinguished service to the law library profession and to recognize contributions to legal literature.

The MARIAN GOULD GALLAGHER DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD is presented in recognition of extended and sustained service to law librarianship, exemplary service to the Association, or contributions to the professional literature. Nominees are those who are or have been members of AALL and who are near or at the end of their careers. The Award may be given posthumously. Nominations, with supporting documentation, should be sent to Ruth J. Hill, Loyola Law School, 1440 W. 9th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90015-3980.

The JOSEPH L. ANDREWS BIBLIOGRAPHICAL AWARD recognizes significant contribution to legal bibliographical literature. Only works published in the 1997 calendar year will be eligible for consideration. The Award is not limited to publications prepared by law librarians or AALL members. Nominations should be sent to David Bachman, Vanderbilt University Law Library, 204 Law School, Nashville, TN 37203.

Further information is also available in the November 1997 issue of AALL SPECTRUM.

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.