ARCHIVED: Eileen H. Searls and Edgar J. Bellefontaine Named Recipients of 1999 Gallagher Award

  • Bookmark and Share

June 14, 1999

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Awards Committee is very pleased to announce the 1999 recipients of the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Awards: Eileen H. Searls and Edgar J. Bellefontaine.

The Marian Gould Gallagher Award is presented to individuals who have completed or are nearing completion of an active professional career. The Award is given in recognition of outstanding, extended and sustained service to law librarianship and to AALL. Each of this year's recipients personify the very essence of the Gallagher Award. Both have substantial contributions to AALL with sustained service that the award contemplates. They have worked behind the scenes for many years making AALL an organization of which to be proud.

Eileen H. Searls graduated with a BA, JD, and MSLS from the University of Wisconsin and in 1951 joined the law library profession as a cataloger at the Yale Law Library. In 1952 she moved to St. Louis, Missouri, to take the position of Law Librarian at St. Louis University Omer Poos Law Library, and is still there today. In 1964 she became a Professor of Law and for many years she was the only woman to hold that status at St. Louis University.

Ms. Searls has served the law library profession with distinction and dedication on the local, regional and international levels. Due to her interest in resource sharing, she co-founded the Mid-American Law School Library Consortium, the Jesuit Law School Library Consortium, the Law Library Microform Consortium, and served as the founding chair of the Council of Law Library Consortia. In all these consortia she has been a tireless worker. More importantly, she has taught others to build and maintain consortia relationships so these groups can continue to work with each other long after her tenure.

Edgar J. Bellefontaine obtained his BA in 1958 from the University of Maine and his JD from Boston College Law School in 1961. He was the Director of the Social Law Library in Boston, Massachusetts, from 1961 to 1998. Upon his retirement he became the Librarian Emeritus of the Social Law Library. He has been the Director of the Supreme Judicial Court Historical Society since its inception in 1990. He has served on various AALL committees and chaired the AALL Public Relations Committee and the Certification Board as well as serving two terms on the Financial Advisory Committee. He has served as President of the State, Court and County Libraries in 1982-83 and served as President of the New England Law Library Consortium from 1990 to 1992. He is a member of the American Bar Association, The Massachusetts Bar Association, and the Boston Bar Association. Throughout his illustrious career he has never lost his love for the profession and has continually taught other law librarians to do the same.

The Gallagher Awards will be presented during the Association Luncheon on Monday July 19, 1999, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Washington, D.C. Please join the Awards Committee and the Association in congratulating the 1999 Marian Gould Gallagher Award recipients, Eileen Searls and Edgar J. Bellefontaine.

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.