ARCHIVED: Charlene Cain Named to Depository Library Council

  • Bookmark and Share

April 7, 2000

Charlene Cain (Associate Librarian/Government Documents, Louisiana State University) has been named by Public Printer Michael F. DiMario to a three-year term on the Depository Library Council. The 15-member Council advises the United States Government Printing Office on issues related to improving public access to government information through the Federal Depository Library Program.

Administered by the Government Printing Office (GPO), the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) is the major means by which the federal government disseminates its information to the public. This nationwide system consists of nearly 1400 libraries acting in partnership for the purpose of enabling the general public to have local access to federal government information at no cost.

Charlene Cain was Chair of the AALL Government Documents Special Interest Section in 1999. In her career she has made many contributions to documents librarianship, including serving as Chair of the Louisiana Library Association's Government Documents Roundtable during 1990-91. In 1995 she was Chair of the Louisiana Federal Depository Library Council Ad Hoc Committee to Revise the Louisiana State Plan.

"I see this appointment to the Council as a means of representing not only the interests of law libraries in the continuing debate over federal information policy," Cain said, "but also as a chance to contribute to the depository system itself, which is the most enduring information link between the United States government and its citizens."

AALL members have provided the Depository Library Council (DLC) with service for many years. Mary Alice Baish (AALL's Associate Washington Affairs Representative) is just concluding a three-year term on the DLC. Susan Dow (Electronic Information Services Librarian, Charles B. Sears Law Library at SUNY Buffalo) recently completed her term, having served as Secretary of the DLC in 1995-96. Other recent DLC members from AALL include Sally Holterhoff (Government Documents Librarian, Valparaiso University School of Law Library), Robert Oakley (Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law, Edward Bennett Williams Library, Georgetown University), Kay Schlueter (Director, Texas State Law Library), and Susan Tulis (formerly Documents Librarian, University of Virginia Law Library).

"I respect Charlene for her commitment, knowledge, and energy in dealing with the issues that face law libraries as depositories," said Pegeen Bassett, current Chair of the Government Documents Special Interest Section. "I know that she will be another strong voice for all of us on the important issues that are facing documents librarians during the upcoming years."

The other newly appointed DLC council members are Cathy Nelson Hartman (Documents Librarian and Electronic Resources Coordinator, University of North Texas), Dena Hutto (Documents/Social Science Librarian, Reed College), Greta E. Marlatt (Head of Information Services, Naval Postgraduate School), and John A. Stevenson (Coordinator, Government Documents and Maps Processing Unit, University of Delaware).

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.