ARCHIVED: Recipients of 2000 Gallagher Award Announced

  • Bookmark and Share

May 1, 2000

Balfour Halevy and Adolf Sprudz Named Recipients of 2000 Gallagher Award

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Awards Committee is very pleased to announce the recipients of the 2000 Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Awards: Balfour J. Halevy and Adolf Sprudz.

The Marian Gould Gallagher Award is presented to individuals who have completed or are nearing completion of an active professional career. The Award is given in recognition of outstanding, extended, and sustained service to law librarianship and to AALL. Each of this year's recipients personify the very essence of the Gallagher Award.Both have substantial contributions to AALL with sustained service that the award contemplates.

Balfour J. Halevy, retired Law Librarian at York University in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, received his LLB from London University in 1956 and an MCL from Tulane in 1958. He began his law library career, and his long association with AALL, in 1961 at the Columbia Law School Library. After receiving his MSLS from Columbia University in 1963, he began building a fine research library at SUNY Buffalo and then in 1967 settled down for the rest of his illustrious career at the York University Law School in Ontario.

Even prior to moving to Canada in 1967, Halevy assisted in founding the Canadian Association of Law Libraries in 1965 and has been central in its work. He was also a founder of the Canadian Legal Information Council. His major publications include Inventory of Canadian Secondary Legal Literature, 1970ï·"1986, and A Selective Bibliography on State Constitutional Revision. He also has been coï·"editor of The Union List of Legal Periodicals in Canada, and forthcoming is his definitive Canadian Legal Bibliography. The many nomination letters from Americans and Canadians alike received by the Awards Committee attested to HalevyâEUR(tm)s overall suitability for the Gallagher award, and he will be the first Canadian to gain this award.

Adolf Sprudz, retired Foreign and International Librarian at the University of Chicago Law Library, began his career in law librarianship in the United States in 1955 and earned his MALS degree in 1961 from Rosary College. Previously he had attended the School of Law of the University of Latvia (Riga) and the School of Law of the Tubingen University, and earned two degrees while at the University of Louvain

Through the years Sprudz has become one of the preeminent leaders in developing law librarianship internationally through his publications, participation in AALL and IALL, and mentoring librarians in foreign and international law. He has established himself as first and foremost an indexer of treaties, and has made enormous contributions to international treaty research. In addition, he has shared his vast knowledge by means of his bibliographies and reviews of research tools in various countries and languages, as well as writings on the Baltic countries. In addition, those who nominated Mr. Sprudz spoke glowingly of his mentoring and commitment to fostering international librarianship, and thus the Awards Committee decided that Mr. Sprudz greatly personified the ideals of the Gallagher Award.

The Gallagher Awards will be presented during the Association Luncheon on Monday July 17, 2000, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Please join the Awards Committee and the Association in congratulating the 2000 Marian Gould Gallagher Award recipients, Balfour J. Halevy and Adolf Sprudz.

The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information.