ARCHIVED: Announcing the winners of the John Johnson Memorial Scholarships

  • Bookmark and Share

June 27, 2000

AALL Announces Winners of John Johnson Memorial Scholarships

Chicago, IL - The American Association of Law Libraries, in conjunction with LEXIS Publishing, is pleased to announce this year's winners of the LEXIS Publishing John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship. Scholarship recipients will be recognized during the Association Luncheon at the AALL Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

* Scott DeLeve, Circulation Manager, University of Mississippi Law Library.

* Kathryn Hensiak, Reference Librarian, Marquette University Law Library.

* Stephanie Hess, Serials Assistant, Golden Gate University Law Library.

* Shawn Kaderlik, Library Assistant, Oppenheimer Wolff & Donnelly LLP.

* Teresa Kent, Assistant Librarian, Lewis Rice & Fingersh.

* Robert Mead, Visiting Reference Librarian, University of New Mexico School of Law Library.

* Michael Meise, Branch Manager, Roanoke City Library.

The John Johnson Memorial Scholarship, named in honor of John Johnson, former Director of Librarian Relations at LEXIS who passed away in 1994, is AALL?s first named and endowed scholarship fund. The fund was established to recognize those law librarians who have exhibited high academic achievement, as well as to assist those who have expressed a desire to enter the field of law librarianship, by awarding several significant scholarships through the AALL scholarship program. Winners are selected based on criteria established with the assistance of the AALL Scholarship committee.

The entire Executive Board and I are delighted with the results of this fund. The original goal when LEXIS Publishing founded and endowed the scholarship fund was for it to become self-funding within ten years. I am happy to report not only has the goal been reached, but the fund is over $230,000 and growing healthily,? commented Susan E. Fox, Executive Director of AALL.

We at LEXIS Publishing believed that we had to do something to honor our friend and colleague John Johnson, one of the most vocal champions of law librarians. John was a true visionary who saw that the role of law librarians would be more critical as we entered into the information age. We are giving this scholarship to those law librarians and future law librarians that are also visionaries. We salute John and our winners,? said LEXIS Publishing executive Larry Thompson, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Strategic Business Development.

About LEXIS:

The LEXIS Publishing family of products and services meets the ever-changing needs of today?s lawyers, law librarians, paralegals and law students. LEXIS Publishing is a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. Information about LEXIS Publishing may be found at

About AALL:

The American Association of Law Libraries exists to promote
and enhance the value of law libraries, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information. Founded in 1906 for both educational and scientific purposes, the Association represents nearly 5,000 law librarians affiliated with law firms; law schools; corporate legal departments; courts; and local, state and federal governments. For more information visit the AALLNET Web site at