ARCHIVED: Nominations for 2001 AALL Awards Accepted until February 1

  • Bookmark and Share

January 11, 2001

Entries and nominations are now being accepted for the 2001 AALL Awards to be presented at the Annual Meeting in Minneapolis. All nominations must be received by February 1, 2001.

The MARION GOULD GALLAGHER DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD is presented in recognition of extended and sustained service to law librarianship, exemplary service to the Association, or contributions to the professional literature. Nominees are those who are or have been members of AALL and who are near or at the end of their careers. The Award may be given posthumously. Nominations, with supporting documentation, should be sent to James E. Duggan, Southern Illinois University Law Library, Mail Code 6803 Lesar Law Building, Carbondale, IL 62901-6803; fax: 618.453.8728.

The JOSEPH L. ANDREWS BIBLIOGRAPHICAL AWARD recognizes significant contribution to legal bibliographical literature. Only works published in the 2000 calendar year are eligible for consideration. The Award is not limited to publications prepared by law librarians or AALL members. Nominations should be sent Marie-Louise Bernal, Law Library of Congress, James Madison Memorial Building, Rm.240, 101 Independence Ave., S.E., Washington, DC 20540-3000; fax: 202.707.1820.

The AALL PUBLIC ACCESS TO GOVERNMENT INFORMATION AWARD, sponsored by the Government Relations Committee, honors an individual or organization making a significant contribution to protect and promote greater public access to government information. Nominations should be sent Keith Ann Stiverson, University of Texas Tarlton Law Library , 727 E. Dean Keeton St., Austin, TX 78705-3224; fax: 512.471.0243.

The LAW LIBRARY PUBLICATIONS AWARD (LLP) honors achievement in creating outstanding in-house library materials, either print or non-print, such as bibliographies, annual reports, pathfinders, brochures, newsletters, videotapes, or software. Entries may be created by an individual AALL or Chapter member, by a library staff member, or by a Chapter, SIS, caucus, or by another component group affiliated with AALL. An LLP Award entry form and brochure can be found on the Web ( or by calling 732.544.5901 and requesting document 375. Four copies of all entry forms and entries should be sent to Mary Ann Nelson, University of Iowa Law Library, Boyd Law Building, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1166; fax: 319.335.9039.

The AALL/WEST LEGAL DIRECTORY EXCELLENCE IN MARKETING AWARD (EIM) honors outstanding achievement in public relations activities during the previous year in five categories: Best Brochure, Best Newsletter, Best Campaign, Best P.R. Tool Kit, and Best Use of Technologies. An EIM Award entry form and brochure can be found on the Web ( or by calling 732.544.5901 and requesting document 385. Four copies of all entry forms and entries should be sent to Sally H. Wambold, University of Richmond School of Law Library, Richmond, VA 23173; fax: 804.287.1845.

The NEW PRODUCT AWARD honors an innovative legal information product that has been in the library-related marketplace for less than two years. Nominations may be made by a member or group within AALL, including legal information vendors. Nominations should be sent to Michael J. Bushbaum, Valparaiso University School of Law Library, Wesemann Hall, Valparaiso, IN 46383-6493; fax: 219.465.7917.