ARCHIVED: Danner Honored With ALL SIS Hicks Award

  • Bookmark and Share

July 18, 2002

Richard A. Danner, senior associate dean for information technology and research and professor of law at Duke University School of Law Library, is this year's recipient of the Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship.

Danner's contributions to academic law librarianship have been sustained throughout his career and have been critical to the advancement of the profession over the past 20 years. He has been active as an author, speaker and participant in AALL activities, serving as president in 1989-1990 and editor of the Law Library Journal from 1984 to 1994. Danner has also participated in other organizations affecting academic libraries, such as the International Association of Law Libraries. He was recently elected to the Executive Board of the Association of American Law Schools, only the second librarian to hold this position.

Danner has written extensively about the core issues of law librarianship in several books and more than 30 articles. His Strategic Planning: A Law Library Management Tool for the 90s and Beyond has helped many librarians work efficiently in the present to achieve future goals. In 1994 he served on the AALL Special Committee on the Renaissance of Law Librarianship in the Information Age and edited the final report of that committee, Toward a Renaissance in Law Librarianship.

The Hicks Award is presented annually by the Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section. The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship through sustained efforts in research, publication and other activities that improve and advance law librarianship. The award is named in honor of Frederick Charles Hicks, the first American law librarian scholar and the first academic law librarian to serve as president of AALL.

Danner joins the distinguished ranks of previous recipients of the award: Penny Hazelton of the University of Washington in 2000 and Frank Houdek of Southern Illinois University in 2001.

Victoria Trotta of Arizona State University chaired this year's ALL SIS Awards Committee, which also included James Duggan, Ed Edmonds, Sally Holterhoff and Diana Osbaldiston.

The award will be presented July 23 at the ALL SIS reception at Barry University in Orlando, Fla., during the AALL Annual Meeting and Conference.