ARCHIVED: Serfass and Cranford Win Inaugural ALL SIS Outstanding Article Award

  • Bookmark and Share

July 18, 2002

Law librarians at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock have won the newly created Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section Outstanding Article Award.

Melissa Serfass, electronic resources/reference librarian, and Jessie Cranford, circulation librarian, won for their article "Federal and State Court Rules Governing Publication and Citation of Opinions," 3 Journal of Appellate Practice and Process 251 (Spring 2001). The article responds to the renewed interest in unpublished appellate court opinions and their precedential value following the recent Anastaoff decision. It includes guidelines for publishing opinions and for citing unpublished opinions in the federal courts of appeal and the appellate courts of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The ALL SIS Outstanding Article Award honors ALL SIS members for publishing articles that enhance academic law librarianship. Eligible articles may be published in any format and publication except Law Library Journal and AALL Spectrum. Articles in the Law Library Journal and the AALL Spectrum are excluded because there are already existing awards for articles in those publications only.

Victoria Trotta of Arizona State University chaired this year's ALL SIS Awards Committee, which also included James Duggan, Ed Edmonds, Sally Holterhoff and Diana Osbaldiston.

The award will be presented to Serfass and Cranford on July 23 at the ALL SIS reception at Barry University in Orlando, Fla., during the AALL Annual Meeting and Conference.