ARCHIVED: AALL Award Winners

  • Bookmark and Share

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

I am delighted to announce the recipients of this year's AALL awards, scholarships, and grants. Congratulations to all of the winners!


The AALL Awards Program was established as a way to publicly recognize the achievements of law librarians based on service to the profession and contributions to legal literature and materials. The major awards will be presented at the 2009 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

For descriptions of the criteria for each award, see the AALL Awards webpage.

The Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award

Patrick E. Kehoe, American University

Elizabeth Ann Puckett, University of Georgia School of Law

The Joseph L. Andrews Bibliographical Award

William H. Manz, Rittenburg Law Library, St. John's University School of Law, Guide to State Legislation, Legislative History, and Administrative Materials (Hein 2008)

AALL Spectrum Article of the Year Award

Carl A. Yirka, Julien and Virginia Cornell Library, Vermont Law School, "The Yirka Question and Yirka's Answer: What Should Law Libraries Stop Doing in Order to Address Higher Priority Initiatives?" AALL Spectrum, July 2008

Law Library Journal Article of the Year

Sarah Hooke Lee, Northeastern University School of Law Library, "Preserving Our Heritage: Protecting Law Library Core Missions through Updated Library Quality Assessment Standards," 100 Law Library Journal 9 (2008)

Law Library Publications Award

Print Division: Tarlton Law Library, Jamail Center for Legal Research, University of Texas at Austin, Roy M. Mersky: An Oral History Interview

Nonprint Division: Law Library of Congress, Global Legal Monitor (GLM)

The AALL/Lexisnexis Call For Papers Awards Program

Open Division:

Joseph A. Custer, University of Kansas School of Law, Wheat Law Library, "The Truthiness of Thinkable Thoughts Versus the Facts of Empirical Research"

Laura N. Gasaway, University of North Carolina School of Law, "A Defense of the Public Domain: A Scholarly Essay"

New Member Division:

Mikhail Koulikov, New York Law Institute, "Indexing and Full-Text Coverage of Law Review Articles in Non-Legal Databases: An Initial Study"

Student Division:

Theodora Belniak, University of Buffalo, The State University of New York, "The Law Librarian of the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries: A Figuration in Flux"

Jason Tubinis, University of Buffalo, The State University of New York, "A Law Librarian's Guide to the Economic Crisis"

AALL Public Access to Government Information Award

The Sunlight Foundation, Washington, D.C.

Robert L. Oakley Member Advocacy Award

Richard J. McKinney, Federal Reserve Board Law Library

Chapter Professional Development Award

One-Time Program: Law Librarians of Puget Sound (LLOPS), Librarians Mean Business: Lessons from the Boardroom

Excellence In Marketing Awards

Best Brochure: University of Minnesota, The University of Minnesota Law Library: Commitment to Excellence

Best Campaign: Law Library Association of Wisconsin (LLAW), 2009 LLAW Marketing Calendar

Best Use of Technology: Arizona State University, Ross Blakely Law Library, The Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law Faculty Scholarship Repository

Best PR Toolkit: Sacramento County Public Law Library, Public Relations Kit

Best New Product Award

William S. Hein & Co., Inc., Subject Compilations of State Laws (HeinOnline)


AALL is committed to providing opportunities for professional growth. Each year, the Association awards scholarships to assist individuals to become a law librarian. For descriptions of the scholarships listed below, see the AALL Scholarships webpage.

LexisNexis/John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship

Library Degree for Law School Graduates:

Donna Bowman, Indianapolis, Indiana

Library Degree for Non-Law School Graduates:

Joanne Gialelis, Salt Lake City, Utah

Marianne Sterna, Carlsbad, California

Dual Library Degree and Law Degree:

Ellen Qualey, Madison, Wisconsin

James F. Connolly LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions Scholarship

Caitlin Connelly Smith, Buffalo, New York

AALL and West/George A. Strait Minority Scholarship

Maria Femenia, Seattle, Washington

Sarah Nolan, Brooklyn, Ohio

Tiffany Paige, Jackson, Mississippi

Scholarships Funded By AALL

Library Degree for Law School Graduates:

Errol Adams, Brooklyn, New York

Ian Bourgoine, Eliot, Maine

Tina Brooks, Lincoln, Nebraska

Mindy Rush Chipman, Union, Nebraska

Cindy Guyer, Pasadena, California

Thomas Sneed, Columbus, Ohio

Library Degree for Non-Law School Graduates:

Phanelson Braxton, Bowie, Maryland


The AALL Grants Program enables law librarians to participate in the professional educational opportunities that are provided at the Annual Meeting or to engage in original research on topics important to law librarianship. Grants are funded by contributions from firms and individuals. For descriptions of these and other AALL grants, see the AALL Grants webpage.

AALL Grants

Errol Adams
Elaine Apostola
Anna Blaine
Mari Cheney
Sheila Cui
M. Faye Hadley
Frank Herch
Jennifer Murray
Debora Person
    Ellen Platt
Holly Riccio
Leah Sandwell-Weiss
David Selden
Jennifer Stephens
Melissa Strickland
Jessica Zairo
Xiaolu Zhang

Chapter Registration Grants

Arizona Association of Law Libraries
Amy Levine

Colorado Association of Law Libraries
Esti Shay

Houston Area Law Librarians
Ann Patterson

Mid-America Association of Law Libraries
Sara Lowe

Northern California Association of Law Libraries
Jocelyn Stilwell

Southern California Association of Law Libraries
Benita Ghura

Western Pacific Chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries
Merri Hartse

LexisNexis Research Fund Grant

Georgia Briscoe, William A. Wise Law Library, University of Colorado School of Law, Is Quality Control in Academic Law Library Online Catalogs Decreasing?

AALL/Wolters Kluwer Law & Business Research Grant

John Doyle, Washington and Lee University, Law School Library, Law Review Submissions

Scott Frey, Western State University College of Law Library, A Search Engine for Law-Related Public Domain Electronic Books

FCIL-SIS Schaffer Grant for Foreign Law Librarians

Ahmadullah Masoud, Reference Librarian, Independent National Legal Training Center (INLTC), Kabul, Afghanistan


James E. Duggan
AALL President