AALL eBriefing / 2016 AALL Award Recipients Announced

The AALL Awards Program was established to publicly recognize the achievements of law librarians for their service to the profession and contributions to legal literature and materials.

Celebrate the accomplishments of your colleagues at the 2016 AALL Annual Meeting & Conference in Chicago where recipients of the Gallagher and Andrews awards will be acknowledged at the Association Luncheon and Hall of Fame inductees will be acknowledged at the AALL Business Meeting.

AALL is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s AALL awards: 

Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award

  S. Blair Kauffman
Law Librarian and Professor of Law
Yale Law School
New Haven, Connecticut
Judith M. Wright
D’Angelo Law Library
University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois 

Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award

Michael H. Roffer
Associate Librarian and Professor of Legal Research
Mendik Library
New York Law School
New York, New York
The Law Book: From Hammurabi to the International Criminal Court, 
250 Milestones in the History of Law

   Hall of Fame Award

Mark E. Estes
Law Library Director
Alameda County Law Library
Oakland, California
Hazel L. Johnson
Richmond Library Supervisor, Retired
McGuireWoods LLP
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Frank Yining Liu
Associate Dean for Legal Programs, Director of the Duquesne Center
for Legal Information and Allegheny County Law Library, 
and Professor of Law 
Duquesne University School of Law
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Merle J. Slyhoff
Collection Development Librarian
University of Pennsylvania Biddle Law Library
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

AALL Spectrum Article of the Year Award

Jason Hawkins
Research Librarian
Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Francis King Carey School of Law
University of Maryland
Baltimore, Maryland

David E. Matchen, Jr. 
Circulation/Reference Librarian
University of Baltimore Law Library
University of Baltimore School of Law
Baltimore, Maryland
“Faced With Crisis: The Importance of Establishing a Comprehensive 
Crisis Management Plan,”

AALL Spectrum
, November/December 2015

Law Library Journal Article of the Year Award

Laura J. Ax-Fultz
The Dickinson School of Law of the Pennsylvania State University,
Dickinson Law
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
“Igniting the Conversation: Embracing Legal Literacy as the Heart 
of the Profession,” 107 Law Library Journal 421 (2015)

Law Library Publications Award

Nonprint Division

Jacobs Burns Law Library
The George Washington University Law School
Washington, D.C. 
A Legal Miscellanea: The Gazette of the Jacob Burns Law Library
Print Division
The Library at Washington and Lee University School of Law
Lexington, Virginia
Celebrating Scholarship at W&L

AALL/LexisNexis Call for Papers Awards

Open Division
James M. Donovan
Director and James and Mary Lassiter Associate Professor of Law
University of Kentucky College of Law
Lexington, Kentucky 

Diversity: So How is AALL Doing?
New Member Division
Avery Le
Emerging Technologies and Repository Librarian
Taryn Marks
Faculty Services and Reference Librarian
Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center
University of Florida Levin College of Law
Gainesville, Florida
Increasing Article Findability Online:
The Four C’s of Search Engine Optimization
Short Form Division 
Susan Azyndar
Reference Librarian
Ingrid Mattson
Reference Librarian
Moritz Law Library
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
Show and Tell in the Legal Research Classroom: 
Screencasting as an Effective Presentation Format

Minority Leadership Development Award

Janeen Williams
Reference Librarian
North Carolina Central University
Durham, North Carolina


Public Access to Government Information Award

Florida Academic Law Libraries

F.A.L.L. Digitized Legal Collections


Robert L. Oakley Advocacy Award

Sandra Levin
Executive Director
LA Law Library
Los Angeles, California


Chapter Professional Development Award

Law Librarians of New England (LLNE)
Successfully Supporting & Igniting Innovation

Excellence in Marketing Award

 Florida State University College of Law Research Center
Tallahassee, Florida
Research Center Pocket Guide
Harris County Law Library
Houston, Texas
Harris County Law Library Centennial Celebration

Foreign, Comparative, and International Law 
Special Interest Section (FCIL-SIS)
FCIL Newsletter 
 Roger Williams University Law Library
Bristol, Rhode Island

Stress Management, Mindfulness and Wellness

Riverside County Law Library
Riverside, California
Bad Day at the Office Bob

New Product Award

Ravel Law
Daniel Lewis
CEO and Co-Founder
San Francisco, California
Judge Analytics

Emerging Leader Award

Susan David deMaine
Research and Instructional Services Librarian
Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Indianapolis, Indiana
Sarah Morris Lin
Library Systems Librarian
Reed Smith LLP
San Francisco, California
Andrew M. Winston
Legal Reference Specialist
Law Library of Congress
Washington, DC. 

Innovations in Technology Award

William A. Wise Law Library, University of Colorado Law School
Boulder, Colorado
Colorado Session Laws Digital Archive

Volunteer Service Award

Carol A. Watson
Director of the Law Library
University of Georgia School of Law
Athens, Georgia 

Congratulations to all of the winners!