Eileen H. Searls, 1925–

  • Bookmark and Share

Hall of Fame Induction: 2010

Significant AALL Service

Chair, Committee on State Bar Publications, 1955–56
Chair, Local Arrangements Committee, 1963–64
Chair, Committee on Microfacsimiles, 1967–68
Chair, Microfacsimiles Committee, 1968–69
Chair, Local Arrangements Committee, 1980 Annual Meeting (St. Louis), 1979–80
Chair, Mid-America Law School Libraries Consortium, 1980–84
Chair, Council of Law Library Consortia, 1981–90
President, Mid-America Association of Law Libraries, 1984–86
Chair, Statistics Committee, 1992–93

Professional Honors and Awards

Woman of the Year, Women’s Commission of Saint Louis University, 1987
Distinguished Service Law Librarian, Mid-America Association of Law Libraries, 1991
Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award, 1999
AALL Hall of Fame, Inaugural Class Inductee, 2010

Selected Publications by the Inductee

“The Demise and Fall of Library Fungus,”  Law Library Journal 57 (1964): 209–16 (with Edward M. Searls).

"Observations on Law School Rankings.” In Legal Education for the 21st Century, edited by Donald B. King, 433–57. Littleton, Co.: Fred B. Rothman, 1998.

Selected Publications about the Inductee

Carol J. Parris, “Gallagher Award Recipients Named,” AALL Spectrum 3 (June 1999): 18.
Joseph J. Simeone, “Eileen H. Searls: A Noble Bibliophile,” St. Louis University Law Journal 44 (2000):  799–802.

Professional Positions

Cataloger, Yale Law Library, 1951–52
Director and Professor of Law, St. Louis University Omer Poos Law Library, 1952–99
Professor of Law Emerita, St. Louis University School of Law, 2000–


B.A., University of Wisconsin, 1948
J.D., University of Wisconsin College of Law, 1950
M.S.L.S., University of Wisconsin School of Library and Information Studies, 1951

Selected Professional Activities & Achievements (outside AALL)

St. Louis University School of Law, first woman promoted to full professor (1964) and first to receive tenure
Admitted to practice of law, Wisconsin, 1950
Co-founder, Law Library Microform Consortium, 1976–77
Co-founder, Mid-American Law School Library Consortium, 1980
Founding Chair, Council of Law Library Consortium, 1981
Co-founder, Jesuit Law School Library Consortium, 1987