2004 AALL Presidential Certificates of Merit

  • Bookmark and Share

Presented in Boston, MA
at the 97th Annual Meeting
Janis L. Johnston, President

Carol Avery Nicholson, Assistant Director for Technical Services, University of North Carolina

  • For dedicated leadership in encouraging AALL contributions of $100,000 for the George A. Strait Minority Scholarship Endowment.


  • For their initial and continuing generous contributions to establish the George A. Strait Minority Scholarship Endowment.

Margaret Maes Axtmann, Associate Director for Information Resources, University of St. Thomas

  • For her exemplary service to AALL and continuing dedication to law librarianship.

Reginald R. Swanigan, Director of Information Technology, American Association of Law Libraries

  • For his dedication and creativity in support of AALL technology innovations.

U.S. Representative Rick Boucher

  • For championship of libraries and enduring commitment to protecting the fair use rights of all users of copyrighted material

Robert E. Riger, Director, Miami-Dade County Law Library

  • For leadership and commitment to the successful statewide effort by the Florida State, Court & County Law Libraries, Inc., to restore a source of funding for Florida's county law libraries.

Siva Vaidhyanathan, Director of Communication Studies, New York University

  • For championship of libraries and public education on protecting our cultural democracy and preserving fair use rights in the digital age.