2007 Scholarship Recipients

  • Bookmark and Share

Contributions to the AALL Scholarship Program enable AALL members to continue their law and library education. Contributions are an investment in the long-term development of qualified individuals and the growth of the profession of law librarianship. Scholarships are awarded in June of each year and the recipients are announced at the AALL Annual Meeting in July.

2006-2007 Scholarships Committee

Scott Childs, Chair
Anne Myers, Board Liaison
Elizabeth Goldberg
James Martin
Eugenia Minor
Holly Riccio
Eloise Vondruska
Jessica Wimer

LexisNexis® /John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship

Mr. Johnson, who died in January 1994, was Director of the Legal Librarian segment of LIS at Mead Data Central and a long-time law library supporter. He believed that librarians are "the only ones who know how real users use real information." Optimistic about the role of librarians in the future, Mr. Johnson believed that law librarians would assume even greater responsibility in the expanding electronic-networked environment.

Mr. Johnson viewed his role as the voice of librarians at LexisNexis® where he began a successful law school program that prepares law school students for their careers. He also participated in programs at LexisNexis® that are viewed by librarians as especially significant educational opportunities such as the annual TRIPLL Conference, which focuses on legal research training in law libraries.

2007 Recipients:
Valerie Bowen, Winona, MN
Christopher Hudson, Frederick, CO
David Dames, Brooklyn, NY

James F. Connolly LexisNexis® Academic & Library Solutions Scholarship

The James F. Connolly LexisNexis® Academic & Library Solutions Scholarship is awarded to a law librarian who is interested in pursuing a law degree and who has demonstrated an interest in government publications. Mr. Connolly was a CIS executive who maintained close ties to law librarians.

2007 Recipients:
None Awarded

AALL & Thomson West/George A. Strait Minority Scholarship Endowment

The George A. Strait Minority Scholarship Endowment is awarded to college graduates with law library experience who are members of a minority group and are degree candidates in accredited library or law schools.

Established in 2001 by AALL and with a $150,000 pledge from West Group, the minority scholarship is awarded annually to minority students who best embody the career goals of the law librarian profession.

George A. Strait (1914-1989) was an outstanding law librarian and long-time AALL member. He held several titles at the Harvard Law School Library during a twenty-year span (1956-1976). After leaving Harvard, he was Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law at the University of Iowa College of Law. In recognition of his career achievements, George Strait was awarded the AALL (now Marian Gould Gallagher) Distinguished Service Award in 1989, and in 1990 the AALL Executive Board made the minority stipend a permanent part of the Association's scholarship program and named it in his honor.

2007 Recipients:
Mary Godfrey-Richards, Glen Cove, NY
Xiaomeng Zhang, Alexandria, VA
Taciana Williams, Plano, TX
Clarence Robertson, Dallas, TX

Scholarships Funded by AALL

Library School for those with JDs
Caitlan Elwood, Concord, NH
Jacob Sayward, New York, NY
John Hadler, Babylon, NY
Louis Rosen, Casselberry, FL

Library School for those without JDs
Katherine Stockert, Seattle, WA
Katherine Sosnoff, Watertown, MA
Lauren Seney, Newport News, VA
Sara Balls, Alexandria, VA

Law School for those with MLS/MLIS
None Awarded

Law School for those seeking a Dual JD/MLIS Degree
None Awarded

Library School Graduates Seeking a Non-Law Degree
None Awarded

Continuing Education Classes
None Awarded