• Bookmark and Share

Committed to Professional Growth

AALL is committed to providing opportunities for professional growth. Each year, the Association awards scholarships in significant amounts in the categories listed below to assist individuals in achieving their goal of becoming a law librarian. Individuals who qualify for more than one scholarship are encouraged to apply accordingly. Minorities are particularly encouraged to apply.

The deadline for all scholarships that AALL offers is April 1.

Scholarships for Aspiring or Current Law Librarians Seeking Degrees

AALL Educational Scholarships

Educational scholarships are available from AALL to assist individuals studying to become law librarians with their educational expenses. Candidates may apply for more than one scholarship where appropriate.

George A. Strait Minority Scholarship

The George A. Strait Minority Scholarship is awarded to college graduates with law library experience who are members of a minority group as defined by current U.S. government guidelines and are degree candidates in accredited library or law schools and who intend to have a career in law librarianship.

LexisNexis John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship

The LexisNexis John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship fund is allocated at the discretion of the AALL Scholarship Jury.

Scholarships for Law Librarians Seeking Continuing Education

Marcia J. Koslov Scholarship

Jointly established by AALL and member Marcia J. Koslov, this scholarship is directed at members who serve as librarians in state, court, or county libraries.

Scholarship for Continuing Professional Education Classes

Awarded to law librarians with a degree from an accredited library or law school who are registrants in continuing education courses related to law librarianship.