2008 Award Winners

  • Bookmark and Share

Recipients honored at the ALL-SIS business meeting and reception on Sunday, July 13th, 2008 at 6:30 p.m. at the Hilton.

Frederick Charles Hicks Award

The Hicks Award recognizes an individual or group who has made outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship through continued efforts to improve the profession.

Roy M. Mersky (University of Texas) and Robert L. Oakley (Georgetown) receive the Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship.

The awards were made posthumously.

Victoria Trotta, Associate Dean for Information Technology and the Ross-Blakley Law Library, provided a moving tribute to Bob Oakley, which can be heard at http://www.aallnet.org/gm-node/45107.aspx.

Photo of Roy Mersky courtesy of the University of Texas School of Law. Terry Martin, Interim Director, Tarlton Law Library and Jamail Center for Legal Research at the University of Texas School of Law shared his memories of Roy Mersky, which can be heard at http://www.aallnet.org/gm-node/45106.aspx.

Photo of Roy Mersky courtesy of the University of Texas School of Law.

Outstanding Article Award

Carol Parker and Ann FessendenCarol A. Parker, Law Library Director & Associate Professor of Law at the University of New Mexico School of Law, receives the ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award for her article, Institutional Repositories and the Principle of Open Access: Changing the Way We Think About Legal Scholarship, 37 N.M. L. Rev. 431–77 (2007).

Photo of Carol Parker and AALL president Ann Fessenden courtesy of AALL.

Outstanding Service Award

Leah Sandwell-Weiss, Ann Fessenden, and Diane MurleyLeah Sandwell-Weiss, Reference Librarian & Adjunct Assistant Professor of Legal Research at the University of Arizona College of Law Library, and Diane Murley, Web Services Coordinator & Reference Librarian at Arizona State University's Ross-Blakley Law Library, were the recipients of the 2008 ALL-SIS Outstanding Service Award. Since 2004 Leah has been the editor of the ALL-SIS Newsletter and Diane has been the ALL-SIS website administrator.

Photo of Leah Sandwell-Weiss, AALL president Ann Fessenden, and Diane Murley courtesy of AALL.

2007–2008 ALL-SIS Awards Committee

Patricia Harris O'Connor, Western State University College of Law Library, Chair; Frances Brilliantine, Catholic University of America; Marlene Alderman, Boston University Pappas Law Library; Terrance Manion, Georgia State University College of Law Library; Sandy Sadow, Widener University School of Law; and Victoria Williamson, University of La Verne College of Law Library.