2011 Award & Grant Winners

  • Bookmark and Share

Recipients honored at the ALL-SIS reception and awards presentation on Sunday, July 24th, at 6:30 p.m.

Frederick Charles Hicks Award

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship will be presented to Margaret Leary, Director of the Law Library, Librarian and Adjunct Lecturer at the University of Michigan Law School.

Outstanding Article Award

The ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award will be presented to Terry Ballard and Anna Blaine, both of the Mendik Law Library at New York Law School, for their article The Changing Face of Current Awareness Reporting in Law Libraries, 111 New Libr. World 104 (2010).

Leadership Academy Grant

For the first time this year, the ALL-SIS offered the AALL Leadership Academy Grant. The ALL-SIS Awards Committee invited ALL-SIS members who were accepted into the Academy to apply for the $1,000.00 grant. Some of the requirements for receiving the grant were financial need, potential for a future leadership role, agreeing to serve on one of ALL-SIS Committees and writing a short article for the Newsletter following the receipt of the grant.

The winner of the 2011 AALL Leadership Academy Grant is Jennifer L. Wondracek of Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center at the University of Florida.

Stimulus Grants

Deborah Darin of Loyola University Chicago School of Law Library and Ping Tian of the Mendik Law Library at New York Law School will be recognized as the recipients of the ALL-SIS Regular Member Stimulus Grant.


Irene Crisci of the Gould Law Library at Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center and Jingjing Zhang of Peking University School of Transnational Law will be recognized as the recipients of the ALL-SIS CONELL Grant.

The 2010–2011 ALL-SIS Awards committee consisted of Ruth Levor, University of San Diego Legal Research Center, Chair; Lisa Junghahn, Harvard Law School Library; Jane Lanman, UCLA School of Law Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library; Masako Patrum, Florida International University College of Law Library; Lisa A. Goodman, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law Dee J. Kelly Law Library; and JoAnn Hounshell, Chicago-Kent College of Law Library Illinois Institute of Technology.