2012 Award & Grant Winners

  • Bookmark and Share

Recipients honored at the ALL-SIS reception on Sunday, July 22, 2012 at 6:30 pm.

Outstanding Article Award

Aliza B. Kaplan and Kathleen Darvil are the winners of the Outstanding Article Award for Think [and Practice] Like a Lawyer: Legal Research for the New Millennials, 8 Leg. Comm. & Rhetoric 153 (2011). Aliza B. Kaplan is an Associate Professor of Legal Analysis & Writing at Lewis & Clark Law School. Prof. Kaplan received her B.A. from George Washington University and her J.D. from Northeastern University School of Law. In addition to teaching Legal Analysis & Writing, Prof. Kaplan teaches a seminar in Public Interest Lawyering, regularly consults on wrongful convictions cases, and represents asylum seekers. Kathleen Darvil is an Access Services–Reference Librarian and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School. Ms. Darvil received her A.B. and M.S.I from the University of Michigan and her J.D. from Fordham University. In addition to serving on the reference team, she supervises the Library’s circulation operations, teaches Advanced Legal Resource courses, and serves as Library liaison to the Moot Court Honor Society.

Stimulus Grants

Active Member Stimulus Grant: The Active Member Stimulus Grant in the amount of $1000 has been granted to Sara Sampson. Sara has been an active member of ALL-SIS since 2004. She served as a member of the Faculty Services Committee and in the following year served as the Chair. In 2006 she became a member of the ALL-SIS Programs Committee and then served as the Chair in 2007. She served as Treasurer of ALL-SIS from 2009-2011 and after completing her term on the Executive Board, served as the Chair of the ALL-SIS Archives and Website Committee. She currently serves as the Chair of the ALL-SIS Programs committee. She is currently working at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as Deputy Director  of the Katherine R. Everett Law Library. She is also a Clinical Professor of Law.;

Regular Member Stimulus Grant: Michelle Cosby is the winner of the Regular Member Stimulus Grant and will receive $1000 to help defer the cost of the conference this year. She has worked as a reference librarian since 2006 and is currently the Senior Reference and Instructional Services Librarian at North Carolina Central University School of Law. She has been a member of the Community Service Committee, Continuing Status Committee, Publications Committee and is currently Vice Chair of the Committee on Relations with Information Vendors, and Chair of the New Products Award Subcommittee.


Kelly M. Leong and Jennifer Martin Rice are the winners of the CONELL Grant this year and each will receive $500 for the purposes of attending CONELL. Kelly graduated from Law School in May of 2008 from George Washington University Law School and completed her Masters degree in May of 2011 from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is currently working as a Reference Librarian at the Goodson Law Library of Duke University School of Law. Jennifer received her J.D. from Salmon P. Chase College of Law in May of 2010 and will graduate with a M.S. in Library Science from the University of Kentucky this summer. She currently serves as the Interim Assistant Director for Collection Development at the Salmon P. Chase College of Law Library. Both Kelly and Jennifer have agreed to become members of the New Academic Law Librarians Meeting (NALLM)/Mentoring Committee and will write an article for the ALL-SIS Newsletter about their experience at CONELL.

The 2011–2012 ALL-SIS Awards committee consisted of Masako Patrum, Florida International University, Chair; Lisa Goodman, Texas Wesleyan University; Matthew M. Morrison, Cornell University; Nancy Strohmeyer, Barry University; Jane Larrington, University of San Diego; and Irene Crisci, Touro College .