Hicks Award

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

Frank G. Houdek Named Winner of 2001 ALL-SIS Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship

submitted by Merle J. Slyhoff,

University of Pennsylvania,

Chair, ALL-SIS Awards Committee

The 2001 ALL-SIS Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship is presented to Frank G. Houdek, Professor of Law and Law Library Director, Southern Illinois University.

The nomination criteria states that nominees "should exhibit extended and sustained contributions in one or more of the following areas." Frank shines in all areas:

  • History of contributions to the field of law librarianship through research, publications and other activities displaying an active participation in the advancement of academic law librarianship - Frank, Mr. Publications, is a prolific contributor to law librarianship as well as legal literature with a bibliography that extends to six pages.
  • Achievement in a particular area of academic law librarianship - Frank has written on numerous relevant topics, most notably legal research, which has resulted in many game show presentations at AALL Annual Meetings.
  • Service to AALL - To name a few:  Past AALL President; Editor of Law Library Journal; Chair, Committee on Relations with Information Vendors; Chair, Special Committee on Fair Business Practices; Executive Board Strategic Planning Committee; Executive Board Finance and Budget Committee; Public Relations Coordinator; Chair, Publications Committee; Editor, AALL Annual Meetings:  An Annotated Index to the Proceedings; Mr. AALL History through his compilations and presentations, and Chair, Special Committee on the History of Law librarianship; etc., etc., etc.
  • Service to the ALL-SIS - Member since 1985; past Chair of ALL-SIS; past Executive Board member; past member of Nominating Committee.

I think all will agree that Frank is the personification of the Hicks award and will join me in congratulating Frank on his accomplishments. The award presentation will take place during the ALL-SIS reception at the University of Minnesota on Tuesday, July 17.

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award was named for the first great American law librarian/scholar and first academic law librarian to be President of AALL. Information about Hicks and his career can be found on the Hicks Awards page on the ALL-SIS website. The award was first presented in 2000 to Penny Hazelton, Professor of Law and Law Librarian, University of Washington. A permanent plaque honoring all winners of the Hicks award resides at the AALL Headquarters office in Chicago.