ALL-SIS Offers Two Awards

  • Bookmark and Share

ALL-SIS logo

The ALL-SIS Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for two awards.

The Frederick Charles Hicks Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Law Librarianship recognizes an individual or group who has made outstanding contributions to academic law librarianship through continued efforts to improve law librarianship. The award, presented by the Academic Law Libraries Special Interest Section (ALL-SIS) of the American Association of Law Libraries, is named in honor of Frederick Charles Hicks, the first great American law librarian/scholar who was also the first academic law librarian to serve as president of AALL.


A nominee can be an individual or a group, and should exhibit extended and sustained contributions in one or more of the following areas:

  • History of contributions to the field of law librarianship through research, publications and other activities displaying an active participation in the advancement of academic law librarianship;
  • Achievement in a particular area of academic law librarianship;
  • Service to AALL;
  • Service to the ALL-SIS.

Submission Procedure:

Individuals may nominate themselves or others. Preference will be given to members of the ALL-SIS.

Nominations must include:

  • A letter of nomination, including the candidate's full name, title, and institution name and address. If the candidate is retired, include name, home address, and most recent former employer.
  • A narrative supporting the nomination, to include a discussion of the candidate's contributions to academic law librarianship;
  • A curriculum vitae of the candidate;
  • The name and phone number of the nominating party.

The award will be presented annually at the discretion of the Awards Committee.

Deadline:  February 1, 2002

The ALL-SIS Outstanding Article Award honors section members for contributions to the enhancement of academic law librarianship through publishing. Articles published in any format in any publication other than Law Library Journal and AALL Spectrum the year prior to the award qualify for consideration. Any aspect of academic law librarianship may be addressed. A plaque will be presented to the author or authors of the winning articles.


  1. Article must be authored by an ALL-SIS member. For co-authored articles, at least one author must be a member of ALL-SIS.
  2. Nominated articles for each year's award must have been published in the previous calendar year, in this case 2001.
  3. Articles will be evaluated on:
    1. Relevance of topic to some aspect of academic law librarianship, including but not limited to public services, technical services, legal research or teaching;
    2. Quality of writing;
    3. Effectiveness of communication technique.
  4. Articles may have appeared in any publication (paper or electronic) including AALL publications, chapter newsletters, non-AALL publications, or in-house publications.
  5. When appropriate, awards will be presented for excellence in writing in different areas of academic law librarianship, such as technical services, public services, or administration.
  6. Awards will not be presented in a given year if the Committee does not feel submissions meet the award criteria.


  1. Articles for consideration must be sent electronically or in paper (5 copies) to the ALL-SIS Awards Committee chair.
  2. Articles may be submitted for consideration by any AALL member, including the authors.
  3. Deadline for submission is February 15, 2002.

Nomination packets for both awards may be sent to the ALL-SIS Awards Committee Chair, Victoria K. Trotta, Ross-Blakley Law Library, Arizona State University, P.O. Box 877806, Tempe AZ 85287-7806. Questions can be directed to the chair at 480-965-2521, or