Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award

  • Bookmark and Share

Call for Nominations

The Kenneth J. Hirsh Distinguished Service Award honors a CS-SIS member who has made outstanding contributions to the SIS, to AALL, and who is well regarded for their service to the profession. The inaugural award recipient was Ken Hirsh, in whose honor the award is named.


  • Outstanding leadership through committee work, service on the executive board, involvement in special projects or other activities
  • Participation in professional development activities in furtherance of the section and its interests, including educational program planning and presentations
  • Involvement with mentoring activities to foster interest and participation in the section and its activities
  • Evidenced commitment to the section, its purpose, and its role within the association in furtherance of the law library profession

To be eligible for the award, a nominee must be an active or retired member of the section. Section officers are not eligible for this award during their term of office.

Past Hirsh Award Winners

2017: Vicki Szymczak
2016: Kristina L. Niedringhaus
2015: Meg Kribble
2014: Jean Willis
2013: Deborah Ginsberg
2012: Bonnie Shucha
2011: June Liebert
2010: Richard Leiter
2009: Sheri H. Lewis
2008: Mark Folmsbee
2007: Jim Milles
2006: Liz Glankler
2004: Kenneth J. Hirsh