Legal History and Rare Books SIS

  • Bookmark and Share


The Morris L. Cohen Student Essay Competition Winner and Runner-Up

The Morris L. Cohen Student Essay Competition Committee is pleased to announce the winner and runner-up in its 2009-2010 competition.  The winning entry, “‘The Citadel Must Open Its Gates to the People:’ Judicial Reform at the 1821 New York Constitutional Convention,” was authored by Justin Simard, who is enrolled at the University of Pennsylvania in its J.D./Ph.D. Program in American Legal History.  Mr. Simard is also Articles Editor for the University of Pennsylvania Law Review for 2010-2011.  As the winner, Mr. Simard will receive a $500 cash prize from Gale Cengage Learning and up to $1,000 for expenses associated with attending the Annual Meeting of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) in Denver, CO, July 10-13, 2010.  He also is invited to present his paper at the Legal History & Rare Books SIS (LH&RB) Roundtable during the Annual Meeting, and to submit his paper to Law Library Journal, the official journal of AALL, for consideration for publication.


The runner-up in this year’s competition is Ian Burke for his paper “The City and the River: The Thames in the Liber Albus.”  Mr. Burke is enrolled in the MLIS program at the University of Denver.  As runner-up, Mr. Burke will be designated a VIP under the auspices of LH&RB, which will provide complimentary registration at the AALL Annual Meeting in Denver.  Mr. Burke also will have the opportunity to publish his essay in LH&RB’s online scholarly publication Unbound: An Annual Review of Legal History and Rare Books.


The Committee will recognize both the first- and second-place winners at the LH&RB awards ceremony and reception at the AALL Annual Meeting, Sunday, July 11, 7:30-9:30 p.m.  Both winners will receive framed hand-lettered certificates on rag paper with their name and essay title, created by a calligraphy artist.


Congratulations to our winners Justin Simard and Ian Burke!





As are all web sites, the LHRB-SIS's web page is a work-in-progress. Please do not hesitate to send any suggestions to Kurt Metzmeier,

� 2010, American Association of Law Libraries