Legal History and Rare Books SIS

  • Bookmark and Share


Officers & Committees 


Sarah Yates
Foreign Law and Rare Book Cataloger
University of Minnesota School of Law.
120 Walter Mondale Hall
229 – 19th Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Vice Chair
Michael Widener
Rare Book Librarian
Yale Law School
Lillian Goldman Library
New Haven CT
(203) 432-4494

Joni Herbst
Technical Services Law Librarian
John E. Jaqua Law Library
1221 University of Oregon
Eugene, Oregon 97403-1221

Immediate Past Chair
Stacy A. Etheredge

11400 Trilogy Pkwy NE, Apt. C-13
Redmond, WA 98053
(804) 519-3127

Newsletter Editor:

Mark Podvia
Associate Law Librarian and Archivist
Dickinson School of Law Library
Carlisle, PA 17013
(717) 240 5015


Kurt X. Metzmeier
Associate Director
Louis D. Brandeis School of Law

University of Louisville
Louisville,  KY 40292
(502) 852-6082 /FAX (502) 852-8906


LHRB-SIS Committees

Executive Committee

  • Stacy Etheredge, Chair
  • Sarah Yates, Vice Chair
  • Karen Beck, Past Chair
  • Joni Herbst, Secretary-Treasurer

Education Committee

Charge: Solicit, review, submit and rank proposals for Annual Meeting educational programming, including regular programs, workshops, roundtables and other educational opportunities.

  • Laura Ray
  • Marianne Alcorn
  • Stacy Etheredge (LHRB-SIS Chair, ex officio)
  • Warren Billings
  • Daniel Blackaby
  • Joe Custer
  • Joel Fishman
  • Kurt Metzmeier
  • Mark Podvia
  • Sarah Yates
  • Fred Dingledy

Newsletter Committee

Charge: Responsible for writing and soliciting content for the LHRB-SIS Newsletter, published three times per year. Also responsible for compiling and mounting on the LHRB-SIS website an annual e-journal consisting of featured articles and book reviews from the Newsletter: “Unbound: An Annual Review of Legal History and Rare Books.“  

  • Mark Podvia, Editor-in-Chief
  • Daniel Blackaby, Legal History Column Editor
  • Joel Fishman, Ph.D., Book Review Editor
  • C. Frederick LeBaron, Member News Column Editor
  • Anne Mar, Recent Acquisitions Column Editor
  • Jennie Meade, Articles Editor
  • Kurt X. Metzmeier, Articles Editor and Webmaster
  • Sarah Yates, Special Collections Cataloging Column Editor

Publications Committee

Charge: Spearhead, review, and provide advice about print and electronic publication projects of the LHRB-SIS.

  • Joni Herbst, Chair
  • Glen-Peter Ahlers
  • Stacy Etheredge
  • Lucinda Harrison-Cox
  • Kurt X. Metzmeier

Morris L. Cohen Essay Contest Committee

Charge: Determine policies and procedures for the competition, publicize the competition, review essays and select a winner each year.

  • Sarah Yates, Co-Chair
  • Rob Mead, , Co-Chair
  • Warren Billings
  • Kurt X. Metzmeier
  • Mark Podvia
  • Laura Ray
  • Mike Widener


As are all web sites, the LHRB-SIS's web page is a work-in-progress. Please do not hesitate to send any suggestions to Kurt Metzmeier,

� 2010-2011, American Association of Law Libraries