2009 Annual Business Meeting Minutes (Portland, Oregon) -- Technical Services Special Interest Section, American Association of Law Libraries

  • Bookmark and Share

Technical Services SIS
2009 Annual Business Meeting
Sunday, July 26, 2009
5:30-6:30 p.m. EDT
Renaissance Hotel - Ballroom East
Washington, D.C.

Call to Order and Verification of a Quorum

Chair Linda Tesar called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m. Secretary/Treasurer Wendy Moore verified that we had a quorum of members present in order to conduct the meeting. There were 53 members present. The Annual Business Meeting quorum requirement is 30 members.

Introduction and Welcome of TS-SIS VIP

Gabriel Horchler was introduced as the TS-SIS 2009 Annual Meeting VIP. Horchler is the Head of the Law Section of the U.S. and Publisher Liaison Division of the Acquisitions and Bibliographic Services Directorate of Library Services at the Library of Congress, which is the section that does 90% of the law cataloging for the Law Library of Congress.

Approval of minutes of the Annual Business Meeting from July 14, 2008, Portland, Oregon

Pam Deemer made a motion that the minutes from the July 14, 2008 Annual Business Meeting in Portland, Oregon, be approved. The motion was seconded. The minutes were approved with a voice vote with no objections.

Secretary/Treasurer Report - Wendy Moore

Secretary/Treasurer Wendy Moore reported that as of May 31, 2009 TS-SIS had a balance of $17,254.78. She noted that TS-SIS will probably close this year with a smaller balance than we began it with, due to Executive Board decisions to spend more of our funds on the membership during difficult economic times, including more funds for scholarships and more funds for breakfasts at early morning committee/roundtable meetings. The TS-SIS Elections held this spring saw a 30% participation rate among our members.

Standing Committee Chair Reports

Acquisitions Standing Committee Report - Ajaye Bloomstone - Bloomstone announced that the Acquisitions Standing Committee Meeting/Roundtable will be held Monday, July 27, 7:00-8:30 a.m. She also noted that the TS-SIS Program on Redefining Work Roles in Response to Changing Collection Environments at 2:30 p.m. on Tuesday, July 28, will be combined with the TS-SIS Technical Services Management Issues Roundtable following it at 3:15 p.m.

Cataloging and Classification Standing Committee Report - Karen Nuckolls - Nuckolls reported that the discussion mainly focused on RDA issues at the Cataloging and Classification Roundtable held earlier on Sunday, July 26, from 3:00-4:00 p.m. She noted that the Cataloging and Classification Standing Committee Meeting would be held Monday, July 27, from 9:00-10:30 a.m.

Preservation Standing Committee Report - no report given.

Serials Standing Committee Report - Carol Avery Nicholson - Nicholson reported that Serials Standing Committee has been focusing on Project COUNTER statistics. She also noted that the Exchange of Duplicates Program has been running with 36 libraries participating. She mentioned that the "Managing from the Middle" Workshop held on Saturday, July 25 and program A-6 "Here Today, Gone Tomorrow? The Future of Print Periodicals in Law Libraries" held on Sunday, July 26 both featured Serials Standing Committee members and were successful and well attended. She noted that the Serials Standing Committee Meeting will be held Tuesday, July 28 from 7:30-8:45 a.m.

New Business

Bylaws Changes - Alan Keely - Keely reported that the proposed bylaws changes had been sent out to the membership on May 27 with follow-up listserv discussion. The changes to the bylaws were undertaken to align the TS-SIS bylaws with the AALL model bylaws for SISs. Rhonda Lawrence made a motion to adopt the proposed changes to the bylaws in their entirety. The motion was seconded. The motion passed with a voice vote with no objections.

Awards - Linda Sobey

Marla Schwartz Grant recipient Leslie Wakeford was recognized. She used the grant to attend CONELL.

TS-SIS Educational Grants recipients were recognized. These grants were used in support of AALL Registration, Workshop Registration, and CONELL Registration. The recipients were: Ajaye Bloomstone, Iris Garcia, Lindsay Beth Given, Emily Phillips, Victoria Sukhol, Richard Todd, and Jared Wellman.

Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award was presented to Curt E. Conklin. Galen Fletcher reviewed Conklin's career in Technical Services at Brigham Young University and his significant contributions to the profession, library automation, and cataloging tools. Conklin accepted the award in honor of Renee Chapman.

TSLL Report - Virginia Bryant

Virginia Bryant reported that Vol. 34 of TSLL had four issues produced and met the goal of getting the issues out on time. She also noted that there are a couple of column vacancies that need to be filled. She announced that Hein proposed to TSLL Board a plan to put TSLL on HeinOnline and that AALL is working with Hein about the possibility.

Chair's Report - Linda Tesar

Linda Tesar reported on TS-SIS table presence at CONELL Marketplace and the Exhibit Hall. She noted that the NISO training slides will be posted on AALLnet and there will be links to them from the TS-SIS webpage. She thanked members of the TS Executive Board, chairs and members of committees & task forces for their contributions to TS-SIS during this past year.

Old Business

There was no old business discussed.

New Business (continued from earlier)

There was no additional new business discussed.

Passing of the gavel

Linda Tesar introduced Chris Long as the new TS-SIS Chair and presented him with the TS-SIS meeting gavel.

Chris Long presented Linda Tesar with a plaque in recognition of her service as Chair and thanked her for her contributions to TS-SIS.

Comments from the New Chair

Chris Long spoke about how important the membership is in keeping the work of TS-SIS going. He recognized the incoming Vice-Chair/Chair Elect Pam Deemer and the new Member-at-Large Katrina Piechnik.

Meeting adjourned at 6:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Wendy Moore