2012-2013 Annual Report

  • Bookmark and Share

Awards Committee
2012-2013 Annual Report

The 2012-2013 TS-SIS Awards Committee consisted of the following five members:

  • Calmer Chattoo, Chair, Serials, Electronic Resources/Special Formats Cataloger, University of Miami School of Law, Coral Gables, Florida
  • Ajaye Bloomstone, Acquisitions Librarian, Louisiana State University
  • Virginia Bryant, Assistant Director for Technical Services and Head of Cataloging, Jacob Burns Law Library, George Washington University, Washington, DC
  • Christine Dulaney, Associate Law Librarian for Technical and Metadata Service, Pence Law Library, American University, Washington, DC
  • Jen Richter, Technical Services Librarian, Sacramento County Public Law Library, California

Activities and Accomplishments

Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions in Technical Services Law Librarianship

On November 30 2012 nominations for the Renee D. Chapman Award were solicited via the Law Library community. Prior to the deadline, February 1st 2013, the Committee received two nominations. Via two conference calls and email discussions the members of the committee evaluated each nominee. Each nominee was accorded confidentiality and judged by the criteria outlined in the TS-SIS Handbook. Members of the Committee voted on the nominees by secret ballots. Sally H. Wambold, Technical Services Librarian from University of Richmond School of Law Library was selected. Several weeks into her retirement Sally was informed of the decision by phone, after which the selection was announced publicly on May 8, 2013. Sally will receive the plaque in Seattle at the Technical Services SIS Business Meeting on July 14, 2013.

Educational Grants

This year the TS-SIS Executive Board decided to dedicate $2500.00 in grant money. This amount was divided among two educational grants of $1000.00 each and $500.00 for the Marla Schwartz Grant. In January 2013 announcements for the grants were sent via the Law Library community. Prior to the deadline, April 13, 2013, the Committee received six applications, four for the Educational Grants and two for the Marla Schwartz Grant. The Committee discussed each applicant via email and conference call and those selected were notified by telephone and also email within a month after the deadline. The Marla Schwartz Grant was offered to Antionette Vanterpool, who is currently attending Library School at Florida State University while working as a Library Assistant in the Legal Information Center at the University of Florida, Levin College of Law. The Educational Grants were offered to Diana Menashi, Head Cataloger at Joseph D. Fuchsberg Law Center, Gould Law Library, Touro Law College in New York; and Joseph A. Reimers, who is currently earning his MSLIS at Drexel University's ISchool while working as a Technology Support Assistant 3 at Notre Dame, Kresge Law Library since June 2002. All pertinent parties within AALL were notified of the awards so that the grantees would be listed in the newsletter, the brochure for the AALL conference and on the TS-SIS website. The information was also posted on various AALL social networking sites.

Recommendations for 2013-2014

It was the Committee's wish to provide a fillable form for the grant application but due to time constraints and workload demands that wish did not materialize this year. The Committee therefore recommends this as an improvement to the application process beginning with next year's applications.

Respectfully submitted:
Calmer Chattoo
TS-SIS Awards Committee Chair
June 10, 2013