Long-Time Member Profile -- Angelina Joseph -- AALL Technical Services Special Interest Section (TS-SIS)

  • Bookmark and Share

TS-SIS Long-Time Member Profile:
Angelina Joseph

Place And Date Of Birth

I was born on May 13, in the last century in Sri Lanka where my father worked for a few years I before he succumbed to diabetes.- I left India in 1979 to accompany my husband in his pursuit of research in Biochemistry. It took us first to Dublin, Ireland (Trinity College), then to this country. Since I had my undergraduate degree in Library Science, I knew I wanted to do my graduate program in the same field.

Educational Background

  • BA (English Language and Literature), 1970, University of Kerala, India.
  • BLS (Bachelor of Library Science), 1971, University of Kerala, India.
  • Master of Library Science, 1984, University of Alabama.


My hobbies are traveling, cooking, crocheting, and sewing.

Inspiration For Becoming A Law Librarian

I visited the University of Alabama Law Library in Tuscaloosa while in Library School, but never thought that I could work there or in any law library without having a JD degree. Until I started working in my current job, I never met any law librarian to influence or inspire me.

Current Position Challenges

Cataloging is an evolving field which might never complete its evolution. Serial title changes are very challenging. We have to keep the HeinOnline link accurate in our bibliographic records for all these changes. Else, a title search might take one to a completely different title in the HeinOnline database.

Prior Positions/Employment

  • Cataloger, University of Alabama, 1985-1986.
  • Cataloger, Waukesha Public Library, Wisconsin, 1986-1987.
  • Cataloging Librarian, Marquette University Law Library, Milwaukee, 1987-

'Crazy' Non-Professional Activity

Don’t remember one, and cannot think of doing anything crazy, especially at this age!

Life's Passion

Visiting new places.

Earliest Childhood Memory

Playing in the monsoon rain one evening with a bad cold and cough. I was around 3 years old and still got punished by my father.

Where In Five Years?

I plan to enjoy our grand children, and visit interesting places in the world in the next 5-8 years.


  • AALL
  • LLAW
  • TS-SIS