2010 – Carol Avery Nicholson

The TS-SIS Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the recipient of the Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions in Technical Services Law Librarianship for 2010 is Carol Avery Nicholson.

Carol is Associate Director for Technical Services at the Kathrine Everett Law Library, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Carol has a stellar record of service to AALL, not only in TS-SIS and OBS-SIS, but also as President, Vice President/President Elect, and Past President of the entire organization. She has been chair of OBS-SIS, chair of the TS-SIS Serials Committee, and is currently chair of the TS-SIS Education Committee. She has given over 25 presentations regarding law technical services in general, law cataloging, acquisitions, law library minorities in the profession, statistics in technical services, leadership, serials control, and automated circulation. She has over 16 publications to her credit dealing not only with technical services, but also diversity, space planning, law and cyberspace, law library systems, basic cataloging, and combining law reference work with law cataloging.

Carol has been heavily involved with the American Bar Association, Association of American Law Schools, and AALL regarding statistical counts for law libraries in general and technical services departments in particular. She has an outstanding service and presentation record regarding diversity in the profession.

Carol also has an exemplary record of service to her campus, not only in law librarianship, but also in diversity and management forums.

Congratulations Carol!

TS-SIS Awards Committee

Wendell Johnting, Chair
Linda M. Sobey
Gwen Gregory