2021 – Alan Keely

Alan KeelyThe Technical Services Special Interest Section Awards Committee is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2021 Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions to Technical Services Law Librarianship is Alan Keely. Alan is the Associate Director for Collection Services, Law Library, Wake Forest University. Alan’s extensive contributions to AALL, the Technical Services and Library Systems Resources & Discovery Special Interest Sections, and technical services law librarianship exemplify the characteristics that the Chapman Award recognizes.

Since joining AALL in 1995, Alan has become a guiding force in technical services areas. His dedication to building a vital Technical Services Special Interest Section, where technical services law librarians can connect with each other and find a professional home, is expressed by the depth and breadth of his committee service. As one letter of recommendation said, he “understands where we’ve been and where we are … and continues to ask where do we want to be?” Alan is well known for his efforts mentoring newer TS members, his extensive list of presentations, and his able facilitation of the Technical Services Management Roundtable. During his term as chair of TS-SIS, Alan initiated revision of the section’s bylaws. Subsequently he served on and chaired the AALL AALL Bylaws Committee during development and adoption of model bylaws.

Most recently, Alan partnered with HeinOnline to produce a database based on de Tocqueville’s Democracy in America. This is an interactive digital edition providing full-text links to the works Tocqueville read while he traveled, researched, and wrote this work.

The Renee D. Chapman Memorial Award recognizes extended and sustained distinguished service to technical services law librarianship and to AALL, in memory of Renee D. Chapman, former head of technical services at the Charles B. Sears Law Library at the State University of New York at Buffalo and chair of the TS-SIS in 1988-1989.

On behalf of the 2020-2021 TS-SIS Awards Committee:

Jackie Magagnosc, chair
Dana Deseck-Piazzon
Wendy Law
Jennifer Mart-Rice
Rachel Parks
Alicia Pearson
Angela Sinhart
Barbara Szalkowski