Dr. Joel Fishman Professional Publication Award

This award recognizes a Government Law Libraries Special Interest Section member’s contribution to the field of government law librarianship through a professional publication that promotes government law libraries, law librarianship, legal research, or public access to legal information. This professional publication primarily targets non-librarian audiences (e.g. library newsletter, research and resource guides for judges, court personnel, attorneys, or self-represented litigants, annual reports). The publication must be authored by a Government Law Libraries Special Interest Section member and have been published in print or electronically within the last year.

Download the Nomination Form


  • 2015 - 2022



    • Not awarded


    • Amy Small, Assistant Director, Texas State Law Library, Austin, Texas “From the Western Frontier to the Digital Frontier: a History of the State Law Library, Journal of the Texas Supreme Court Historical Society, Summer 2019, pp 40 –52.


    • Harris County Law Library Staff, Harris County Law Library, Houston, Texas, Pro Se Litigants Handbook and Manual para Litigantes Pro Se


    • Ryan Metheny, Managing Librarian, Legal Education, LA Law Library, Los Angeles, California, “Improving Lives by Building Social Capital: A New Way to Frame the Work of Law Libraries,” Law Library Journal, Fall 2017


    • Jennifer Dalglish, Director/Law Librarian, Alden E. Miller Law Library of Clackamas County, Oregon City, OR; Dan Cordova, Colorado Supreme Court Librarian, Colorado Supreme Court, Denver, CO; and Mark E. Estes, Law Library Director, Alameda County Law Library, Oakland, CA, “Managing Government Law Libraries Today: Challenges and Opportunities,” AALL Spectrum, November/December 2016
    • Dan Cordova, Colorado Supreme Court Librarian, Colorado Supreme Court, Denver, CO (with William Hood),”The Colorado Equal Access Center: Connecting Unrepresented Litigants to Legal Resources through Technology,” The Colorado Lawyer, September 2016


    • James Durham & Steven Anderson for “A Safe Haven”, AALL Spectrum, March 2015
    • Bonnie Shucha for “Engaging the Third Sovereign: The Nature, Reach, and Sources of Tribal Law,” Wisconsin Lawyer May 2015